Pollyanna calls it a moral victory

Lyda here.

With the Quilt of Unusual Size completed

Mentioning it as an excuse for another picture of QOUS – on the Sith Master’s bed - and no, his room is not red, it’s just the lighting and/or my mad indoor photography skills

QOUS on bed

How’s that for digressing?

Anyway… this past weekend I found myself with time to turn a few UFOs into FOs. So I dug out some quilted bags that I started forever ago and never finished. These were supposed to be gifts in a giveaway in 2008 that never happened. Finishing them at last is a moral victory.

Now they will be ready the next time I need a quick gift for someone.

Finished Object #1: a crazy quilt bag

Bag 1

Note the leopard print edge at the top. Grr!

bag 1 inside

As you see, the inside is blue. The back of the bag is the same fabrics with different shapes (plus a bit of the leopard print), but apparently I forgot to take a picture of it.

That bag was practically done – it only needed the handles added.

Finished Object #2: another crazy quilt bag

bag 2 side 1

One side

bag 2 side 2

Two side

bag 2 inside

Red side, inside.

How Dr. Suess-ian.

That bag only need the inner lining, the edging at the top, and the handles added.

Finished Object #3 – striped bag

striped bag

striped bag inside

Which, it turns out, was completely finished already and had been put in with the UFOs. Apparently to give them hope that it could happen to them. Very Velveteen Rabbit.

UFO #4 – Another crazy quilt bag. No pictures. This one was made with scraps from a box I got from a friend – I am not proud, I will gladly take the discarded fabric of others, and there was some good stuff in that box. If you have fabric that needs a home, send it on over. The quilted outer part of the bag was about a third done. But it just didn’t appeal to me anymore. I worked on this bag for a few hours on Saturday, decided that I just hated the whole thing, and with a great lightening of heart, gave up on it. It is now in the scrap pile, to be cut up into strips or squares or something, and put into some other crazy quilt project. Or not.

It was a relief to walk away from it.

It’s funny how things like UFOs press on my subconscious, nagging at me at a level that I’m barely aware of.

For example… oh geez, here comes one of her stories, run for it!

I made a quilt for one of my grand-nephews, who was born on the fourth of July. But I didn’t send it to his parents, because I thought it would hurt his 2-year-old brother’s feelings if he didn’t get a quilt too. So I thought I’d wait and do another quilt, and send them both.

You guessed it. That second grand-nephew quilt, which has an African jungle theme, is in my UFO pile.

And I still have the completed Yankee Doodle Boy baby quilt sitting in the closet. How I wish I had just sent it.

These boys are now much older, and the quilts they would want now – if they wanted such things – would be vastly different (plus much bigger). And the whole family now lives across the ocean. And the boys have a little sister – who also did not get a baby quilt, see above reasoning.

And none of these children is pining away for the quilt they never got. None of them even knows about these quilts! I hereby dismiss any guilt or embarrassment in this matter. Begone! You have no power here!

I’ve decided I’ll donate the completed baby quilt this year. Our county fair collects baby things, displays them at the fair, and then gives them to the children’s hospital. If I finish the African jungle quilt – I’ll make a baby-sized version instead of the larger one I’d planned, and save the rest of the fabric for other things – it will be donated too.

Y’all, I have to confess that it was only last year when I stopped feeling vaguely guilty when I changed the radio station in the car because the song was good but I wasn’t in the mood for it. I don’t know what I thought – that the musicians were going to get their feelings hurt? Because I changed the radio station?? I’m such a weirdo. But I didn’t even realize consciously that I was feeling guilty about it. It was just a vague discomfort… Sometimes I even listened to a song that I wasn’t in the mood for, or that I didn’t particularly like, because it was a “good song.”

And one day, I was driving along, and I reached to change the station, and became conscious of this nagging hidden guilt I’d been carrying for… well, years, I guess…

And I burst into laughter.

And the guilt evaporated.

But I digress… Quite a lot, it seems.

My quilting UFO pile has now been significantly reduced. And I did all my mending too. UFOs now includes the aforementioned African jungle quilt, and The Increasingly Inaccurately Named Easy Heart Quilt, a project that I created for myself and really love, but never quilted because I was scared that I would ruin it.

A project that I started because I fell in love with a book and because – wait for it – I wanted to do something small.

That I could complete quickly.

Please note that this project was started in 2008.

Cue the uproarious laughter.

That is two – only two – quilting UFOs left.

The Heart Quilt project is going to be one of the next things I pick up.

It’s only fabric and thread.

I’m not afraid any more.

Leave a Reply

