Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Challenge of Eris

Ooooooo … sounds scary, doesn’t it? Nah. It’s not too boring, not too hard … just right.

Eris is a remarkable cabled sweater pattern I bought from The Girl from Auntie, probably over a year ago. She is the originator of the famous Rogue hoodie that was all the rage not long ago. I bought that pattern, too, at the same time, but have not yet found the right yarn for it. (She’s also got a pattern in Amy R. Singer’s No Sheep for You, which I want very, very, very much. But I can’t remember her name for the life of me, and I can’t find it on her website! But hey, it’s midnightish and I should be sleeping instead of blogging and knitting). I’m doing the pullover, not the cardigan.

So anyway, I’ve had Eris on the needles for almost that long. I found the yarn for it at the going-out-of-business sale at Aurora yarns … so maybe it was two years ago? A year and a half. Gah. I have no time sense at all. The yarn is Debbie Bliss Merino Aran, in color 506, which I will describe as something between bottle green and forest green.

Luckily I came down with the flu, which made me woozy when I tried to do anything involving standing or driving, but I was fine as long as I was resting.

 Yes, I said “luckily”. If you’re a knitter, you get it completely and probably didn’t even bat an eyelash.

I got a really good long sit-&-knit period right at the time I cast on. The beginning is the beautiful, complex, no-chatting-allowed cabled neckline.  There are Idunnamany charts to this baby, and I think more than half the chartage is the neckline cabling!

I got the body done and started the cabled/horizontally ribbed lower border, and then got stuck. It wasn’t that I was incapable of doing the last cabled bit, it was that I couldn’t do it without a good chunk of uninterrupted, focused time. Oh. Hm. Mr. B. and Mr. R. are not happy with Mama focusing on anything but them for long, uninterrupted times. And my breaks at work weren’t really long enough to get very far.

So on Saturday, Darlin’ K suggested I take a break in the morning and go to one of our local coffee places for a couple of hours. I headed down to Java Stop, because they’re cool and funky and friendly but, because they usually close at 2 p.m., I hardly ever get to do anything but stop in for a to-go mocha.

And … in spite of having two nice conversations with other people, I got the last corner of the bottom border done! Now, I’m only about three inches from finishing the border, and I can start the sleeves!

I may even be able to wear Eris next winter! Yay me!

By the way, this pattern is totally worth the six bucks. It is meticulous and thorough. If you just do what the lady says, you’ll have a gorgeous sweater at the end of it, and a really great education in thoughtful pattern/sweater design. I swear, the details in this thing are freakin’ brilliant. She has this nice, neat, simple way of treating the edges without resorting to traditional ribbing (which I like most of the time, but would be totally wrong on this design). And even though the charts seemed intimidating at first, I’m finding that if I use something to help me keep track of where I am (sticky note), I’m fine. The symbols she uses are even logical.

Oh, and you may have noticed that in the linkfest, I didn’t link Java Stop. They don’t have a webpage. Sorry! But frankly, it would be a little weird if they did. You’d have to go there, but then you’d get it.

Oh, and since this is all about knitting? You know who it is, don’t you?

One thought on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Challenge of Eris

Leave a Reply

