Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Is a Yarn Pusher

Hi, Anna-Liza again, with further stories about L.A. It’s taking longer to write about it than to live it! (Well, it wouldn’t if I didn’t have to eat and sleep and work between writing sessions).

So we’ve made it all the way through … Thursday. Hm. I’m going to have to pick up the pace a little. Friday was a pretty great day, in spite of being rainy and cold.

Lyda drove up from Orange County early, beating the worst of the morning traffic. (I did say “early” you know). First we hit Denny’s for breakfast (hey, they had free parking!) Once we had our blood sugar stabilized for a bit, we hit Black Sheep Knittery. While I was feeding the meter I asked, “How many hours should I put in here?” and they laughed at me. Laughed!  And–get this–Black Sheep was having a huge sale–50% off everything! Everything! (Do you fully understand the implications of “everything”? Yes. I can see that you do).

And it’s a way cool store, too. I wish I thought to get pictures, but I was so focused on getting my fix the yarn, needles, and books that I completely forgot to take the camera out of my purse.

It’s a lovely store in a little strip of lovely little stores. We spent a long time in there–long enough for the meter to run out. (Ha! Told you so!) Ms. Hotcar gathered up a big bag of beautiful stuff, including some Noro Silver Thaw and a few other goodies. We are starting a knitalong (if it can be called that, with just two of us) on Annie Modesitt’s Backyard Leaves scarf in Interweave Knits’ last Holiday issue, and we both got yarn for that. I indulged myself with some Lantern Moon ebony straights for the same scarf. They are normally way out of my price range, but at half off, they were only a little more than I will spend on a good set of bamboo needles, and I’ve been wanting some since I first saw them. Wanna see? Here:   Backyard Leaves 

Those are the Lantern Moons. Ms. Hotcar gave me the stitch marker. The yarn is Louisa Harding Grace, also from the sale. My first choice was a pink that looked like rose quartz, but there were only 3 skeins left, and I needed 4. This purple one will probably go with more of my stuff. Ms. EH bought the same colorway–purple is probably one of the few colors that both of us can wear.

I also got some bamboo circs and a skein of some rainbow textured yarn that I just liked a lot, all from the $3 bin. That’s it, but it took me a lot of yarn fondling thought to narrow down my choices to something I could fit in my suitcase reasonable. I seriously considered some Debbie Bliss Aran Tweed, also in the super-sale bins, but there were only 5 skeins of the purple I liked best. There was a black/multi that had a full bag left, but I didn’t love it. Even on sale, I pretty much have to love a yarn to buy it, unless I’m making a gift and the giftee selects the yarn. (But 50% off can turn a case of serious like into love). We found some bulky yarn and biggish needles for Lyda’s first knitting lesson as well, but I can’t remember what it was–Lyda, check your ball bands and let us know! It was pretty and a nice blend of Lyda’s colors.

Speaking of Lyda and knitting, voila!  Lyda’s first lesson

That is a photo of my two best girlfriends, Lyda (on the left contemplating her palm) and Ms. English Hotcar, (in the green suede jacket). Ms. EH gave the lesson, in continental at my request. I wanted to be able to help Lyda out, and I can’t knit English (yet). Ms. EH is a much better knitting teacher than I am.

After a refreshing coffee-and-knitting session, we headed out again for the Peace Awareness Labyrinth & Gardens, on West Adams. It’s one of those great places every city has, but hardly anyone knows about. Lyda and I each walked the labyrinth, which was a much cooler experience than I expected, and we wandered through the meditation gardens. It had been raining all day, and had cleared up just before we got there, and everything was dripping wet. It was completely gorgeous and more soul-soothing than I can possibly convey in words, or even in pictures. Here’s an attempt, though.  Peace Awareness Garden    May Peace Prevail   There are more and better photos at the website. There is information on hours and events, as well. The former mansion housing the dining room and offices/meeting rooms there is also quite beautiful and worth seeing. I can’t describe the feeling of calm content that I carried with me from there. Just go.

We hit some turbulence after the gardens. Ms. Hotcar really wanted to find this Italian place in Venice, and Lyda and I were agreeable to Italian, so we headed in that direction. Navigation was difficult–the map was very detailed, which was helpful in most ways, but made it hard to pinpoint where we were at any given moment (it’s one of those book-style maps). We got pretty darn lost.

We did spot this:  Fishie in the Sky  Lyda and I argued that it was a shrimp, but Ms. EH was right–it’s a great big fish in the sky. Unfortunately, it really should have been a shrimp, because that’s pretty much all they served, and Ms. EH is allergic. So we moved on.

For some reason, Venice was dark and deserted by the time we got there, so we went to Santa Monica. Low blood sugar and hunger were beginning to get the best of me, and I am pretty sure I got fairly whiny. We ended up eating at a little pizza joint. The crust was excellent, but the chicken was bland. Lyda says the lasagna she had was pretty good. And then we went back to the hotel, split up the schwag said our goodbyes, and Lyda headed back to the O.C.

And that’s really enough for one post, don’t you think? My next post will cover Saturday (at least), the ultimate French Dip and Fries Experience, and Knit Cafe (I need to find out how to do accents on this thing. I have this sinking feeling I might need to know code for that).

5 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Is a Yarn Pusher

  1. antim

    You might *think* you need code, but you can do it the relatively low-tech way (like I do) and cut and paste from the following list:

    á, é, í, ó, ú, ý
    Á, É, Í, Ó, Ú, Ý

    Secret Pal says if you hit control-apostrophe, then let up and type the letter you want accented, it should work, but Blogger doesn’t seem to like that. Maybe WordPress will be better.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  3. Pingback: Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  4. Pingback: Pollyanna of the Rocky Mountains, Birthday Chick « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

