Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Mitten Knittin’

Hi, Anna-Liza here.

Okay, I’ve got a whole lot of knittin’ goin’ on.

My cousin-in-law has a baby shower this Saturday, and even though we were told she was expecting back on Christmas I totally forgot until I got the shower invitation. I am knitting under my desk while my computer loads files, to get more done on the Heartbreakingly Cute Baby Kimono from Mason-Dixon Knitting. I’m doing this in yellow cotton with no modifications.

And I’m making a little sumpin’ for a friend who is turning 40 next month–I’m not saying more because it’s possible she’ll read this. If I had nothing else to knit, though, I’d probably get it done in under a week.

And of course, there’s the cabled socks, the Backyard Leaves scarf, the so-close-to-finished-I-can-taste-it Lace Wrap, the Bag Bag (bag made out of strips cut from plastic grocery bags), Eris (I just have to finish the sleeves, weave in the ends, and block it) … and the stuff in the closet.

So what’s this about mittens? Why, in mid-May, when we think we might actually be past the snow (although we’re keeping our fingers crossed about that), would I be thinking about mitten knittin’?

I found out about this over at Rabbitch. (Rabbitch is cool, go read her. I’ll wait. And buy something from her, too).

I’m not entirely clear yet as to whether the challenge is to knit 7 or 8 pairs of mittens by October 1st, but no matter, I can do that. Mittens are not so hard, if you don’t get into all the fancy patterns. One of the Stitch ‘n’ Bitch books (don’t recall which just now, but it might actually be this one) has a fun Alligator Mitten pattern I’ve done for each of the kidlets, quick & easy on size 5 DPNs. And once I’ve done a couple of plainish sets, maybe I’ll be up for making things fancy!

So if Ann of Sheep Shots is willing to organize this thing, I’m willing to give it what publicity I can. I know we don’t have gazillions of readers, but we have our loyal, um, looks like around 30. Get the word out! We have knittens to mit!

5 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Mitten Knittin’

  1. lyda

    Mittens? I’m having enough trouble with the Endless Scarves… okay, okay, don’t look at me like that, I’ll get on it…

    Reply
  2. First Among Imaginary Kellys

    Mittens? Would those be easier than socks? Dude, seriously, I really am going to knit something that’s not flat and rectangular. (As soon as the anxiety attacks stop.)

    Reply
  3. annaliza Post author

    Lyda–Mittens are a good next step! (Same to you, FAIK!) And Marin … nooooooooo!!!!

    Reply
  4. Aj

    Hey, this is Aj, Morwynne’s old friend. Just wanted to pop in and say hi!

    BTW, I am in love with that mason dixon kimono, I keep having to talk myself out of knitting it when I have so many other projects that demand my attention.

    Hope everything is going well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

