Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Parties Down!

Hi, ya’ll, Lyda here. Sorry for the lack of posts. I had school this weekend, which was… well, profound and challenging and in the end, fantastic. And tiring, what with all the work and the hugging. Possibly the best thing about USM is that I have met these truly amazing humans who are my classmates, and now I have all these great new friends. Who feel like they’ve been friends forever; ya’ll know what I mean.

So, class ended on Sunday at about 7:30, and I did not want to leave. Lots of people felt the same, and we hung out outside for a while. Some folks headed off to dance at a local jazz club, some went to get pizza, some probably did other stuff I didn’t hear about. I ended up at an impromptu party at a classmate’s condo. It was so perfect. He has a great place, with a firepit on the patio and patio heaters, and we just hung out and talked and laughed. One of our classmates is a songwriter and she sang and played guitar for a bit. It was funny, the women were sitting near the firepit, and the men were gathered behind us.

So, fire, drinks, laughter… you know we started talking about IT before long. It was… um… enlightening. I got to know these women in a whole different way. Ya’ll know what I’m talking about.

One question: Why didn’t the men contribute to this conversation? They were definitely listening. But all they did was ask questions. Why don’t men share these kind of stories? Are they afraid that it will look like they are bragging? Are they too shy? Or what?

Okay, that was more than one question, but whatever…

Anyway, my carpool finally had to drag me away. Lots of fun!

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Parties Down!

  1. Anna-Liza

    IT? You spent a convivial evening talking about computer and network maintenance? Wow, I knew you were odd, but, just, wow. Maybe the guys just felt like their tech savvy wasn’t up to par.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

