Pollyanna Visits the Big Mouse’s House

Lyda here. You know who I mean – Mickey Mouse! And it was only fair for us to visit him, since the mices have been visiting us.

The Sith Master (my son), “Chuck Norris” (otherwise known as Second Son), and I had a blast at Mickey’s pad in Anaheim. We didn’t see MM, as he was busy hangin’ with his peeps in Toontown and such. But we had a great time Saturday at D-land!

Sidebar: The Sith Master hates it when I use  this kind of slang. Apparently it is lame for a 47-year-old mom to try to be all that. Not that his embarassment will stop me. Word!

We got to D-land at 8:30 and stayed until 3:30 or so. Went first to Indiana Jones, then hopped on the Jungle Cruise (one of my favs – I love hearing the same hokey jokes every time, I can’t help it.).  We also did the three roller-coaster-type rides: Space Mountain, Big Thunder Railroad, and the Matterhorn. Did Star Tours (can’t miss anything related to Star Wars!). At the end, we rode the train back to Main Street and saw the dinosaurs (hokey and scientifically inaccurate, but beloved by me!), and went home because our feet were tired.

The whole day, we kept just walking onto rides with only 5 to 15 minutes in line. The longest we waited was 25 minutes. We only used the Fast Pass system once, for Space Mountain – the rest of the time we just sailed onto the rides. Cool!

At one point, we walked past the Pirates ride and jumped on it because the wait was only 5 minutes. In case you have been living in a cave (or not in So Cal, where such things as this and Ms. Hilton dominate the local news)…

Pirates was recently updated it to include Jack Sparrow and references to the movies. We liked it but agreed that the change was definitely not worth waiting in line for a whole day. By sheer coincidence, the last time we went to D-land, the line for Pirates went all the way through the park to the entrance because Johnny Depp was there to open the updated ride. We didn’t see him. Need I tell ya’ll that we did NOT stand in line for Pirates that day? But I digress…

We did NOT go on the new Nemo submarine ride. The wait for that was rumored to be 3 or more hours all day long. (I live here; I can wait until the lines are shorter. Gloat, gloat.)

Possibly the best part of the day was lunch. [Yeah, I love my food ya’ll. And it shows, it shows.] I love to eat in New Orleans Square at the French Market Restaurant, which has great Southern Fried Chicken, outdoor tables, and live jazz music. I highly recommend it.

We sat close to the stage, and my musician sons & I loved it. (The Sith Master plays the trumpet, “Chuck Norris” plays the French horn.)

This time there was also a singer – Queenie, the Queen of New Orleans. Ya’ll, I covet her costume, all red and purple dance hall temptress, with feathers and everything! I was singing along (the trio was loud, so no one could hear me, not that there’s anything wrong with my voice, really) and smiling and clapping, and Queenie gave me a string of mardi gras beads “just because you are so sweet”.  Awesome!

Queenie got the crowd going, got the kids up and dancing with her and banging tamborines (neither of my sons did this, though), gave out lots of beads, and belted out the songs with power and sex appeal.

Can you tell – I want to be Queenie when I grow up!

How else can I dress in a form-fitting dress of red and purple, with feathers and lace and petticoats, and flirt with all the men??

And the guys and I are available as Disneyland guides, if you are out our way… HINT HINT

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna Visits the Big Mouse’s House

  1. Pingback: Jazz Musician » Blog Archive » jazz musician June 26, 2007 8:53 pm

  2. Anna-Liza

    Oh! Oh! Oh! Did you go to the Enchanted Tiki Hut or whatever it’s called? The one with the animatronic parrots? That was one of my favorites when I lived in SoCal.

    We’re just going to have to figure out a way to get me and the whole famdamily out there in about 2 years, when I judge Mr. B. will be old enough to handle D-land.

    I totally danced in front of the older kids when they were teens, BTW. Number One Son found it horribly embarrassing, and I just laughed at him.

    Reply
  3. lyda Post author

    The boys decided that they are too cool to go to the Enchanted Tiki Room. It’s my doctor brother’s favorite too; we tiki-ed out when he visited.

    Yes, have to get you all out here! And remember, you and I need to do something amazingly cool to celebrate our 25th, or our 30th, or something…

    Doctor brother and his wife have a deal with their grandkids: when you turn the big Ten-Zero, you get a multi-day trip with Grandma and Grandpa to either D-land or Disney World – with no siblings or parents along! They figure 10 is a good age for mouse visits.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

