Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Knits it Forward

Lyda here.

I believe that most people are decent human beings just trying to do their best in the circumstances they are in. I believe that we can help each other make the world a better place. I believe that one of the best ways to do this is to share our passion with others – to share our joy and thus spread joy.

If all this surprises you, look up. See the name of this blog? Focus on those first three words, ya’ll. Ah, I see you understand now, grasshopper.

Pollyanna added a “Knit It Forward” category (look to the left) with links to places where you can donate hand-made items and other stuff (including all that extra money you have cluttering up your place…). Like Warm the World. And Mitten Knittin’. And Knitters without Borders. (I would put the KWB button on, but I don’t know how. Anna-Liza? Help?)

I thought it would be helpful to have them all listed in one place, as searching through old posts on all the blogs (while entertaining) can be time-consuming. And I can never remember where I saw it first…

Which is why I’m not giving credit to the blog where I saw Warm the World today. ‘Cause I can’t find it again. I checked every blog at least twice. (I’m sorry! Let me know who you are, and I’ll give you credit!)

If there’s something I missed, post the links in a comment to this post, and I’ll add ’em.

Of course, there are also great local places to donate your wonderful handmade items, whether you knit or quilt or crochet or whatever.

Women’s shelters need things for babies, children and women, and homeless shelters need things for everyone. Nursing homes appreciate lap blankets and quilts. Hospitals and children’s homes need baby and kid stuff. (Our county fair has a special entry category for items that get donated to the Children’s Hospital after the fair, and every entry gets a ribbon. Very cool.)

And there’s lots more… And of course you can donate almost anything. Although I don’t think anyone has a use for my Random Rectangular Things.

There are a lot of great places to share the warmth. And the knitting/quilting/craft community is known for reaching out and sharing. I’ve only been here for a short time, but I’ve learned that much already.

Feelin’ all warm, and not just from the knitting on my lap…

Keep on knitting it forward, ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

