Pollyanna Heads Off to Summer School

Lyda here. Just to let you know, I will be off the blog for a week while I attend my “5-day lab” for school. Which is actually a 6-day lab since it starts Friday evening and ends Wednesday night. Or at least 5-and-one-half days… Ya’ll, the “not counting to four or beyond” thing afficts more than just the knitting community.

I’m looking forward to school, really I am. A week off from my regular routine sounds good right now. I want to see my classmates, I want to submerge myself in spiritual psychology for a while, I want to be free of all other obligations and remember who I really am.

So, if I’m looking forward to school so all fired much, why do I feel so sad? 

I’m scared it’s going to be the end of the adventure, ya’ll. Lab is the end of Year One, and I don’t know what will happen with Year Two.

I don’t want to think about how much the second year of school costs, or wonder how I’m going to pay for it without selling my soul   selling my body  renting out my garage to a family of ten   all of the above.

So I’m just going to pretend that I’m not dwelling on the tuition… La la la… I’m not paying you any attention, Year Two Tuition. I just know I’m going to be in Year Two somehow. Somehow you are going to get paid on time. Yes, you will. La la la…

Yep, that’s me and little Susan you hear chanting: I believe, I believe, it’s stupid, but I believe. And Santa got her what she asked for, right?!

Anyone know a family of ten looking for a garage to live in?

But I digress…

Where was I? Oh yes, lab.

I’ll be staying with a classmate and friend who lives only a few blocks from school. Woo-hoo! She is saving me from the horror of driving back and forth from LA to Orange County for 6 days straight (just see Laurie’s post if you don’t believe me about the horror). Including some weekday mornings – shudder. Scary, kids! (Does anyone else remember the vampire character on SCTV?) Plus I can devote those would-be driving hours to sleeping hours.

But there will be someone staying at my place, feeding the cat and the kids and probably going nuts from all the video games…

Reminder to self: Get hostess gift. (Wonder if she’d want a Random Rectangular Thing?)

I’ll be back in range of a computer Wednesday night, but I doubt I’ll have energy to write. Or read. Or speak a full sentence.

Possibly Thursday.

Maybe Friday.

Would you believe Saturday?

(Would you believe they made a new Maxwell Smart movie? Just saw the preview. Dun-dun-dunnnnn-POW…)

I’ve gotten addicted   in the habit of checking various blogs each day, and I am going to miss that little routine in the week ahead. I like cyber-stalking  seeing what Laurie (Crazy Aunt Purl), Marin (AntiM), Red, et. al. are writing about each day. (Ha! A three-at-once stalk!) And of course, there is always the prospect of photos of cats and FOs and WIPs. It’s important to keep up with one’s friends, even if they are friends I haven’t met in person. (YET! bwahahahaha!)

But I digress…

Again…

There’s a pre-class party tonight. It’s a birthday party for a classmate who is from Texas, and he promises a band and two-steppin’ and such. I’ll tell you all about it when I get back. (As Marin might say: Summary: Party. Dancing. Menz. Really scary, kids!)

So you have a hopefully blog-worthy story of my two-steppin’ to look forward to. And I console myself with the thought that if I trip and fall or otherwise make a complete fool of myself – well, it will make great blog fodder. Funny how disasters make better posts than happy stuff… I mean, how much could a person write about something like “I won the lottery today and am now $50 million richer.” (Although – hello Universe are you listening? – I’d love to try!! And think of the yarn… oh, the yarn…. sigh…)

Speaking of yarn…

I think I’ll frog the half of a scarf I have, and knit it again at half the stitch count – so it will be a whole (although skinnier) scarf. Besides I don’t have any more good yarn to take with me, and I need to knit. Ya’ll know. This will be 3 – or is it 4? – times that I’ve frogged this yarn. Yes, more confirmation of my yarn-abusive tendencies.

I have to go pack the knitting, ya’ll.

But I digress yet again… 

I think the point I was trying to make is: I’ll be back soon.

In the meantime I leave you in the lovely and capable hands of Anna-Liza.

(musical interlude… just like at the skating rink…)

Leave a Reply

