Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the End of Harry Potter

Hey, Anna-Liza here.

No surprises, we had dinner at the Pumphouse. I had the Cilantro-Lime Shrimp Tacos and Darlin’ K the Chili Rellenos, both of which were really good. The Shrimp Tacos had the Mexican food flavor I wanted, but there was no cheese, so it was lovely summer fare. The only thing I wish is that I’d ordered something other than a margarita–as excellent as mine was (and it was!), my taste buds were pretty done with lime juice by the end of the meal.

Oh yes, I did indeed get Deathly Hallows. I finished it at about 2:45 this morning.

It is excellent! Rowling completes the story, killing off quite a few people actually, and makes it feel satisfying and pretty “right” by the end of it all. The characters continue to grow and develop in a manner consistent with their histories. I was very pleased to see that my very few predictions were spot on, including the nature of Snape and the death or survival of Harry, but I was equally pleased by the fact that Rowling had some real surprises in store.

I won’t tell you who dies or how many major characters make it through, (I’m not entirely sure who could be called “minor” by this point, once you get past Harry, Ron, and Hermione). I will suggest that you keep a box of Kleenex handy. Or whatever brand of facial tissue you prefer. I think you can trust me on this.

I actually found the last couple of sentences a little, well, odd. But I think that ending the book without the epilogue would have been way too abrupt. It’s probably just me, but I’d be interested to know if that last bit struck anyone else as somehow not quite … quite … I don’t know. It was probably just me being weird in the wee hours.

Actually, looks like a few people other than myself had reservations about the epilogue. There’s a decent article here that mentions that a few fans didn’t care for it. But, on the whole, I think this review gets it right.

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the End of Harry Potter

  1. lyda

    Hey!!! Hold up there!!! Put a Spoiler Alert up there or something! Some of us have been in school and haven’t had a chance to read it yet!!!

    Just pouting and whining because you’ve already had the pleasure of reading it all. And so has the Resident Sith Master. The good news is he’s finished his copy – so it’s MY TURN!

    Yeah, think I know what I’ll be doin’ this weekend… I won’t start it tonight (no I won’t no really I won’t) ’cause I have to work tomorrow and I’m already seriously short on sleep. But Friday night… I can sleep in Saturday… and the gardening can always wait, right?

    Reply
  2. lyda

    Okay, I finished it on Sunday morning, and now re-reading your post, I see there were no spoilers. Just a mention of an epilogue. Sorry about that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

