Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Global Warming Scarf

Lyda here. Yes, this post contains actual knitting news! (Yes, this is a knitting and quilting blog. No, there’s no quilting progress to report. Why do you ask?)

I broke down yesterday and fell off the no-yarn-buying-until-my-finances-can-handle-it wagon. I know ya’ll will understand.

I got really tired of knitting with nasty scratchy awful acrylic yarn, which was all I had left so I was knitting with it out of desperation. I don’t know what it is I’m knitting with this; I was just sort of keeping my hand in. I’m thinking it’s going to be a really scratchy blanket – which is pointless. Who wants a scratchy blanket? (Do ya’ll have any ideas to use up this scratchy yarn? Would it be softer if it was felted? Should I just make squares to scrub the floor with? What?)

So it was either get more yarn or frog the scarf (again!) and do it over at half of the width (half the number of stitches – yes, I’m learning the lingo). And this yarn has been abused enough – not only did it get tinked a lot during it’s various knitting incarnations (including one as the Bumpy Scarf), it has been frogged completely three times already! Frogging again might be more than mere yarn can stand.

You see why I had to get more yarn. Really. My reasons for spending money on yarn are perfectly, well, reasonable. I know ya’ll will agree.

Besides, I like it at this width. And now I have enough yarn to finish it at this width and also add fringe, which I have decided it needs. It is going to be a really long, really warm scarf. It’s a thick soft yarn, and with that and the width and length, it will be appropriate for tossing on on the way out of the igloo.

In fact, this scarf could warm the whole Inuit village. This scarf is going to contribute to global warming, ya’ll. So I’ve now named it the Global Warming Scarf. (Not that I don’t take global warming seriously, ’cause I do. But serious is not the same as “having my rather-bizarre sense of humor surgically removed.” But I digress…)

The scarf (when finished; experts are predicting sometime in 2022) will be way too warm for Southern California. I’m going to have to send it to someone who lives where there is a lot of that white stuff on the ground… what do ya’ll call that? Oh yeah, snow.

Besides, the yarn-buying was not my fault! Yesterday I innocently drove off on my way to procure much-needed groceries – and the car went to Michael’s instead! No, ya’ll. Really. It was the car. It is totally enabling my fiber habit!

Does my car need to join FA-Anon? FA = Fiber Anonoymous. Don’t pretend you’ve never been slipped a pamplet by a well-meaning relative. At least I know none of you will stage an intervention on me. [Unless you are after my stash. Trust me, I have no stash. Yet! But I digress again…] And my car is white and named Obi Wan, so you know that it is working for the Light Side of the Force.

So, since my car drove me there, I had to get out and look, didn’t I? What can just looking hurt? And buying another one or two skeins of yarn to finish the Global Warming Scarf, well, completion is a good thing, right? Otherwise I’m wasting precious fiber resources. Besides, the yarn was actually on sale – that’s right – Michael’s was having a yarn sale! (Be afraid, be very afraid!)

I knew I was doomed as soon as I saw the sale.

I managed to restrain myself somewhat. While I did get more three skeins of yarn for the Global Warming Scarf, I managed to resist the blandishments of most of the rest of the sale yarn. A lot of it was yarn with fringe and pompoms and other cool stuff, which was intriguing but I thought would be more difficult in my beginner knitter-ness.

So, did I just walk away at that point, with the completion-of-scarf yarn and nothing else?

Well… about that…

There was this yarn on sale, ribbon yarn in verigated rainbow colors – Lion Brand “Incredible” in the “City Lights” colorway (updated – thanks Anna-Liza) And the ball band has a picture of a cute scarf that ends with the ribbony yarn hanging down… and the directions are on the back of the band… and I know this young girl who would love this scarf and totally needs it. And it only takes two skeins. And the yarn was ON SALE for two dollars a skein, ya’ll! ON SALE!

“The sun was in my eyes. Friends came in from out of town. IT WASN’T MY FAULT!” (Oh, John, I miss you so much!)

I was weak. I bought the ribbon yarn too. I bought 3 skeins of it. Two for the scarf, one to put in my stash pile. Which isn’t a stash pile at all, if you don’t count the nasty acrylic yarn which I don’t. This skein will be the beginning of my stash. (I have to have something to leave Anna-Liza in the codecil to my will, ya’ll.) And I bought size 13 circular needles, because that’s the size it says I’ll need to make this scarf, and I didn’t have any needles that size. (This purchase brings me total number of sets of needle up to three. Pity me.) And I always do what the yarn ball tells me to do…

And anyway, this scarf will probably be a birthday or Yule present for the 9-year-0ld girl I mentioned, Diva-In-Training, who is actually the Resident Sith Master’s half-sister and extremely cool in her own right, and thus a recipient of gifts from me at fairly random intervals. Diva-In-Training is destined to either be an opera star or take over the world. So, it is a good idea to knit her something. I could end up with box seats, ya’ll. Or maybe Nebraska.

Nebraska would be cold enough for lots of knitted stuff.

Although the ribbon scarf could also be a present for the sister of my second son, “Chuck Norris,” who would also love it. Hmm… maybe I need to make two of these scarves. Uh-oh…

Fortunately for the bank account, the store was closing in five minutes, so I didn’t have time to talk myself into buying some of the really soft wonderful baby yarn which was not on sale. (“Why do I want to knit baby stuff? I don’t know anyone who’s expecting. But it’s so soft. And baby stuff is so cute. And I could donate what I make. That would be good, there are lots of babies  who could use soft warm hats and sweaters and…” Ya’ll see the danger I was in.)

So, saved by the bell once again. And then the car agreed to take me to the grocery store, so we now have food too.

And that was my weekend. That and laundry, movies, and Harry Potter. More on that later.

I knew ya’ll would want to hear about the yarn first.

8 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Global Warming Scarf

  1. jane

    I totally understand about your car – mine takes me to Hobby Lobby and Panda’s Crossing all the time. I ride the brake, but it just doesn’t help!!

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    So good to hear from you again Jane! Sorry about your car, though. Mine also loves Home Depot and the gardening centers. Nothing would make my car happier than being stuffed with plants, fiber, craft and art supplies, and cool power tools.

    I wonder how many others have this problem with their cars? Hearing about everyone’s massive stashes, I suspect this is an epidemic! Where is the media coverage!?!

    Reply
  3. Anna-Liza

    The ribbon yarn is Lion Brand “Incredible”, and the Michael’s stores in Colorado have it on sale for $2/ball, too. Go get another one so you have enough in your stash to theoretically make another scarf.

    You might possibly want to get a larger needle for the scarf, since you’re a tight knitter. Then again, knitting ribbon yarn is going to drive you entirely round the bend if you don’t loosen up–you can’t get the point of the needle under the yarn if it’s tight, since the yarn is actually flat!

    Reply
  4. lyda Post author

    Yes, I began with the ribbon yarn last night and discovered that I have to loosen up. Probably good practice for me to learn to loosen up. The ribbon yarn twists a lot – when the stitch is loose it’s pretty but when it’s tighten it is not so good. Will be hearing frogs in my place tonight!

    True, I could make non-baby stuff from the baby yarn… the softness!! But the colors are very… pastel.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  6. Pingback: Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  7. Pingback: Pollyanna and the Friday Knitting Report « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

