Pollyanna and the Weekly Random Weirdness of Humans, Science Edition

Lyda here. It’s Tuesday. Time once again for our weekly foray through the Weirdness that is the Human Experience. This time it’s science weirdness, because that’s just the way I roll.

1) Weird Science (got to have the movies for Marin):

It’s not weird that scientists discovered new species; they do that all the time. It’s weird that this forest was “unknown” until recently. It’s nearly 386 square miles  of forest “the size of Hong Kong.” The local people knew it was there, but apparently they don’t count and anyway they didn’t tell Science. Probably good, since the animals have been having a nice relaxed time being left alone. No one told them that they were unidentified. I can hear the frogs now: “What do you mean, unidentified? That’s my mom, that’s Uncle Bill, and over there is my crazy Aunt Polly.”]

2) Wild Science: 

The following headline caught my eye, and with my recent obsession with mices, ya’ll know I have to share this:

 Sensory organ holds key to hot mouse sex.

I wonder if Minnie knows yet?

3) Even Wilder Science :

Gay animals out of the closet? First-ever museum display shows 51 species exhibiting homosexuality

I love this quote in the article, from Linda Wolfe, who heads the Department of Anthropology at East Carolina University:

“You can make up all kinds of stories: Oh it’s for dominance, it’s for this, it’s for that, but when it comes down to the bottom I think it’s just for sexual pleasure,” Wolfe told LiveScience.

Don’t ya just want to enroll in her classes?!

And let’s stand up and cheer:

The argument that a homosexual way of living cannot be accepted because it is against the “laws of nature” can now be rejected scientifically, said Geir Soli, project leader for the exhibition.

4) Abby-Normal Science (“Whose brain did you get?” “Abby… somebody.”): Identity crisis: You barely know yourself

Ya’ll, I could have told them that. Especially on a Monday.

5) Strange Researchers Science: This is my favorite part of the above story:

Research has shown, for instance, that compared to what would be expected by chance alone, more men named “Ken” move to live in Kentucky and more “Florences” move to live in Florida; more men named “Dennis” become dentists and more “Lauras” become lawyers.

Who is doing this research? How do you get a grant for that? I told you humans are weird!

6) Rock Star Science: Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds is going on a US rock star tour! The rocks are her bones, of course. (She really was named after the song, ya’ll.) Go see her if you can!

7) Gravity-Light Science:  A teenager fell six stories from a hotel balcony but walked away with just bruises and scrapes.

Let’s not share this one with the kids, okay?

8.) Monkey-Shines Science: A curious monkey who somehow managed to free himself from his pen in the Tupelo Buffalo Park and Zoo and was on the lam for days was finally recaptured Monday.

Must be Curious George’s brother.

9) Granny-Power-Activate Science:

Australian, 94, earns master’s degree – in medical science, ya’ll!

She started her bachelor’s degree at 70. She’s thinking of going on and getting her Ph.D. I’m her number one fan!

10) Zombie Science (“It’s Alive! It’s Alive!”):

After 100,000 years, ‘gene popsicles’ come alive with warmth and food

Sounds like a typical Friday night to me…

4 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Weekly Random Weirdness of Humans, Science Edition

  1. annaliza

    I love these stories. When I go online at work, I have to be really careful or I get sucked into the science headlines.

    Sometimes it happens even when I’m not careful.

    Hot mouse sex and gay giraffes and one-celled organisms, oh my!

    Reply
  2. Red

    Just for the record, East Carolina University is pretty yokel and it takes the average student 6.4 years to graduate. I think it has something to do with all the bars right off the edge of campus.

    Reply
  3. lyda Post author

    “the love that dare not growl its name” *snort!* making me LOL all over my cubicle!

    I thought you’d like it, BFF. The science stuff sucks me in too… Oh my indeed!

    Red, where are you gettin’ your info on East Carolina U? Do you have personal experience of these bars of which you speak (she asks innocently)?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

