Pollyanna of the Rocky Mountains Says “I’m Alive! And Bitching!”

Yeah, it’s me.

I’m still here, I’m still breathing, I haven’t killed anyone.

Mr. B. had a stomach bug yesterday, so I stayed home with him. (Darlin’ K is working a contract that requires him to be elsewhere, and he makes approximately 4 times as much as I do, so it makes sense).

If you think it was a “nice break”, you have clearly never spent a day taking care of a grumpy 3-year-old whose tummy hurts and can’t eat anything. Who started throwing up at 1 a.m. and is too tired and weak to walk anywhere.

My back hurts–he’s getting heavy.

We went to the doctor, who checked him for strep (apparently it presents that way in small kids sometimes) and got a negative, so she recommended the BRAT diet. If you don’t know it, it’s Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, Toast.

He pretty much stuck with the applesauce, but by yesterday evening, he was eating almost normally, and he went to preschool today. And I went to work, where my inbox was … is there a word that is more intense than “overflowing”? And I am pretty much the opposite of relaxed. But hey, over at The Kidnapped Can Opener (thanks Lyda and Rabbitch), I found the perfect image for my mood.

Oh yeah, baby!

Thanks to Libby and Carry for making me feel better!

And if you haven’t ever spent the day taking care of a sick 3-year-old, then no, I didn’t get any knitting done. Well, except for a few rounds on Mr. B’s bucket hat, while we were waiting at the doctor’s office. I finished Mr. R’s. If I can borrow Number One Son’s camera, I’ll get some pix up soon.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna of the Rocky Mountains Says “I’m Alive! And Bitching!”

  1. Red

    Yeah, I’m about to do that with my doctor. Seriously, why can only a doctor read test results? She’s out of town, can’t you people find another person to tell me I’m fine and you took all that blood and stuff for no good reason!

    Reply
  2. lyda

    Glad Mr. B. is feeling better. Red, I feel your annoyance – been there, girlfriend.

    Hmm, a better word than “overflowing” for the inbox… how about “erupting” ? – as in “an erupting volcanic torrent of work in my inbox”

    Is that emphatic enough? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

