Pollyanna invests in a happiness bank

Lyda here.

I just read this post  on Faith’s blog,  at just the right time for me personally (thanks, Faith!), and then checked out her link to this on somethingfishy.com.

The links above talk about a “coping bank” as a way to bank healthy ideas for coping with stress, to use as needed. It works like a regular bank, but with coping strategies instead of money.

I decided to call mine a Happiness Bank. As we’ve talked about before, it is all too easy to fall into the habit of sadness, unhappiness, or just… meh. My new Happiness Bank is a way to fall into the habit of happiness.

So here’s how to make your own:

  • Write one positive idea on each piece of paper. These would be positive things that one can do to help one cope, instead of falling back into the habits / behaviors / crutches that no longer serve a useful purpose in one’s life.
  • Put all the pieces of paper in a box, or use a bag or pouch so you can carry your bank with you. You can decorate your box / bag / pouch however you want. Hmm, pirates? Zombies? Muppets?
  • Then next time you need a boost, pull out your Happiness Bank and pull out a slip.
  • If the item on that slip doesn’t appeal to you (or you can’t do it right then), put it back and pull another one.
  • Repeat until you find one that you will do.
  • Do it.
  • Repeat until cheerful or your next therapy session, whichever comes first…

Here are just a few of the things I’m putting in my Happiness Bank:

  • dig in the garden
  • hammer nails into a board
  • play with clay
  • fingerpaint
  • read blogs – ya’ll usually cheer me up!
  • go to the drugstore and buy my inner child a little toy
  • color
  • play with Tom cat
  • take a nap (if we all napped and played as much as our cats, we’d be so healthy! unemployed, but healthy!)
  • read “Hamlet”
  • read Terry Prachett
  • watch Monty Python
  • sing at the top of my voice
  • go for a walk
  • call a friend
  • destroy alien scum with the Resident Sith Master
  • play with fiber!

You notice, most of these will cheer up the inner child. And all without chocolate! Not that there is anything wrong with chocolate… but I do feel the need to branch out in my coping strategies. Also to fit into my pants. But I digress… Most of these don’t cost anything either. A few of them allow me to wallow a bit – Hamlet not being known for being cheerful himself, ya’ll – or express my anger without serious repercussions.

Next time I’m tempted to eat too much ice cream, overclean, or pick up sailors at the docks – not that I have ever done any of those things, of course, la la la – I hope I remember to pull out my Happiness Bank and try something different.

Okay, at least you know I’m all talk about picking up sailors…

So far anyway…

Of course, ideally, I would do some of these BEFORE I become the Melancholy Pollyanna – which really is a contradiction in terms, isn’t it? but I digress…

But one step at a time…

Is that one step closer to or farther from the docks and those lonely sailors?

Yo ho…

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna invests in a happiness bank

  1. annaliza

    I’m the one who picked up sailors, remember? Well, sailor. Once. And it wasn’t at the docks, it was at a club … oh, look! A digression! What we both did was pick up actors and/or musicians, fools that we were (Are? Oh, I hope not “are”). Good for experience, bad for the metaphorical heart scars.

    Reply
  2. Marin

    Ooooh… Zombie Muppet Pirates.

    I just started mentally designing a knitted zombie Muppet pirate.

    Thank you very much. I was running out of things to knit.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pollyanna Brushes Up Her Shakespeare « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

