Pollyanna says, “This one’s for you, bro”

in which Pollyanna is such a dork about her blogging that she prepares her entries the evening before posting them… yes, dorky and weird all bundled together into a little ball of me.

Lyda here. As if you hadn’t guessed…

This one is for my younger brother and his husband, two of my favorite men in the world.

October 11th is “National Coming Out Day”. This year’s theme is “Talk About It.” The article says this year marks “the 20th anniversary of the 1987 Gay and Lesbian March on Washington, and the unfurling of the AIDS Quilt on the National Mall.”

 quilt.jpg

Visit the Quilt website (where the above picture is from) here

This page is about how to make a quilt panel for the quilt.

The article also says:

“Today, nearly three-quarters (72 percent) of Americans say they personally know or work with someone who identifies as gay or lesbian, according to Peter D. Hart Research Associates Inc. In 1987, only 11 percent claimed that they associated with a “male homosexual” on a regular basis, according to ABC News and The Washington Post.” 

If you are interested in more information on Coming Out, you can visit the Human Rights Campaign’s information here. They have a page for us straight ally types too.

(And just to insert my two cents in here–this is Anna-Liza speaking–I am, myself, bisexual and identify as “queer” in other ways as well. Yes, I’m married to a man. Doesn’t change the facts. Not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, so it seems appropriate to mention it now. No, I’m not trolling for dates).

I’m proud to say that my son’s first political act was to march in the Seattle Pride Parade. Well, I say “march.” He walked, but he also rode in his stroller part of the way, because he was two years old and he got tired.

We marched with a group of friends and family of gay/lesbian/transgenders. We were next to a grandmotherly woman. People kept coming out of the crowd to hug her. One woman told us her own mother had not spoken to her since the day of her coming out, fifteen years before.

Fifteen years of not speaking to your child. Because your child had the courage to tell the truth. Unbelievable.

My son has no idea why gay marriage is such a political issue. His friends don’t either, which gives me hope for the future, and also confidence in my son’s ability to choose good people as friends.

My son said to me, “Mom, if two people love each other, what difference does their gender make? Love is love.”

Exactly.

One thought on “Pollyanna says, “This one’s for you, bro”

Leave a Reply

