Pollyanna and What’s in a Name?

Lyda here.

First, I want to let you all know that my Ravelry name is “PollyannaWest.” [Edited to the correct name – Marin told me that when I registered I accidently left out the “Y” in Pollyanna. Oops! But then Marin told me how to fix it. Thanks, Marin!] Please be my friend. I was tempted to use “Darth Pollyanna” but I thought that might be a bit obscure. Besides, we all know that I’m not the Sith in my house.

I’m working on the weekly Random Weirdness post, which will be about Halloween. I know, you are stunned. A Halloween post on Halloween. How unusual. How innovative. How creative. I will try to post it either tonight or tomorrow.

My son the Resident Sith Master and I have a school conference tonight. So of course, I could hardly sleep (not because of the conference, because of my boring, I-refuse-to-dwell-on-it, my-body-hates-perimenopause stuff). I need to have black eyes and be unable to put together a coherent sentence at the meeting, apparently.

Summary: I am not a Sith, but I think my body might be…

Meanwhile, back at the stash: (yes, I used this phrase yesterday, and I’ll probably use it tomorrow…)

Work continued last night on the scarf for second son “Chuck Norris”, not to be confused with the real Chuck Norris. Last night I began the second color, which is a purplish red. It looks great next to the black. This is my first project with two different color yarns, and I’m inordinately pleased with how good it looks. “Simple pleasures are the best…”

Maybe I’ll call this scarf the “Chuck Norris Bites Frost” Scarf, based on a “Chuck Norris fact” that is one of the top 10 favorites of the man himself:

“Chuck Norris doesn’t get frostbite. Chuck Norris bites frost.”

Or I could call it the “Good Guys Wear Black” scarf, since that is the name of one of his early movies.

Or I could call it the “Lone Wolf” scarf, after his movie, “Lone Wolf McQuade” (1983), in which he said: “My kind of trouble doesn’t take vacations.” Love the quote, not so much naming it the “Lone Wolf scarf”. Second son is really not the lone wolf kind of guy, which is a good thing.

I think I like “Chuck Norris Bites Frost” as a name best.

The Resident Sith Master does not understand why I have to name the scarf. I told him, every project must have a name, in the grand tradition of the Heathers Scarf. (Hi Marin, still stalking you!)

He thinks I’m crazy.

He may be right.

Whatev.

11 thoughts on “Pollyanna and What’s in a Name?

  1. Marin

    Tell him you’re crazy, but you’re crazy like a knitter… which I envision as being somewhat like “crazy like a fox,” only with more sheep.

    Darling, you are PollannaWest on Ravelry. You lost a Y somewhere in the move.

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    “Crazy, crazy for namin’ my knitting…”

    Crazy like a knitta… that’s me! I even lost my Y. Y! Why did I lose my Y?!

    Maybe it’s with my missing sheep…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pollyanna and the Friday Knitting Report « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  4. Pingback: Pollyanna plays with fiber - under careful supervision of course « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  5. Pingback: Pollyanna, UFOs, and the Stars « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  6. Pingback: Pollyanna reports a knitting triumph! And politics again… « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  7. Pingback: Pollyanna and the Monday After « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  8. Pingback: Pollyanna and the F.O. Pictures « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  9. Pingback: Pollyanna Says, Happy B-Day Chuck Norris! « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

