Pollyanna plays with fiber – under careful supervision of course

Lyda here. I have actual fiber-related progress to report! Yes, I did something beside watch TV this weekend. Actually, I did some things while I watched TV this weekend… Fiber things. Check it out, ya’ll, a knitting and quilting blog!

The “Chuck Norris Bites Frost” scarf is moving fast. I finished knitting the second skein of black yarn, and started the second skein of Claret (using Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick yarn  ’cause I’m a newbie). Which means the scarf is more than 75% done. I even remembered to leave some black yarn so I can attach the two pieces of the scarf together. Tommy the cat of course added his personal touch by sitting on the yarn as much as possible. This is a service he provides at no cost. Ya’ll know that yarn is better when kitty-warmed. Really, what isn’t better when kitty-warmed? Books, fiber, beds… all are better with a cat. Ice cream, however, is not better with a cat; cats are not known for their sharing. Oh, also better without a cat: putting the moves on a guy. Although my cats have always left the room. I’m not sure they are being discreet. More likely they just think it’s boring. I sort of remember the moves… Vaguely… But I digress…

The “Global Warming” scarf is pinned to towels on the floor of my bedroom, being blocked into an actual rectangle. Oh my gosh – it’s almost done! Once it’s dry, I can add the fringe and it will be my first completed non-Random-Rectangular-Thing knitting project! I was worried that one end was wider than another, but the Magic of Blocking is fixing that.

This is the first time I’ve ever blocked something, and of course, Tommy my Feline Fiber Supervisor had to personally direct the procedure. I wet the scarf in cold water, and wrapped it in a towel to get rid of some of the excess water. I put dry towels on the floor and started measuring and pinning the scarf down. I just used regular straight pins because that’s all I had. T-pins would work better. Since the wider end of the scarf measured 11 inches, I measured every two inches or so and pinned the scarf to 11 inches wide. And Tommy helped by carefully stretching out on the part of the scarf not yet pinned. He was not pleased when he had to move. After I was done pinning the scarf, I put more towels on top, to keep the cat hair down to a minimum and to keep Tommy from unpinning the scarf or chewing on the pins. At which point, Tommy lost interest in the whole process. I think I heard him mutter, “Spoiling all my fun… You will pay, lady…” as he stalked off. I could be in trouble…

The rest of the weekend, between doing laundry and eating and sleeping, I worked on the Frog Prince Quilt. The good news is that I finished the quilt top! And yes, it is at least twin-sized now. Thanks for asking. Stop laughing, Anna-Liza. Of course Tommy supervised the sewing too. Meaning he attacked the thread, tried to sit on top of the sewing machine, and was otherwise paws-on in the whole process.

Tommy always gives me the benefit of his extensive design skills as I work on quilts. So of course he attacked the fabric on the floor several times and rearranged the squares of fabric for me. The bad news is that two of the squares got swapped at some point and so one corner of the quilt has a mistake    variation in the pattern. Of course, I did not notice this until after I had stitched the entire quilt top together. Since I triple-stitched all the corners where the seams met, and it would be very tricky to pick the seams out without damaging the fabric, I’m probably going to leave the… variation… in the quilt.

You know, there is a persistent myth that the Amish always made one deliberate mistake in every quilt, to show the quilter was humble. The truth is that quilters sometimes make mistakes. Sometimes the mistakes give the quilt unique character and charm.

So, yeah. Unique character… charm… yeah…

Right.

One thought on “Pollyanna plays with fiber – under careful supervision of course

Leave a Reply

