Pollyanna Tinks! She Frogs! She Doesn’t Knit (Much)!

Hey, Anna-Liza here.

You remember I was all excited about finally finishing the Cabled Socks? Now, not so much. I made a really stupid mistake in the decreasing, which I didn’t discover until oh, eight or so rounds into the toe.

Because of the way the cables and moss-stitch columns are laid out, the stockinette sole is somewhat narrower than the patterned instep. However, to get the decreases to mirror each other properly and to be able to have an even number of stitches at the end, when I Kitchener, I have to redistribute the stitches when I’m ready to decrease so that the top of the foot and the bottom have the same number.

Yep, that’s what I didn’t do.

(If you’re a master knitter who has a foolproof technique for perfectly Kitchenering eight stitches on the front needle and sixteen on the back … just shut up).

I didn’t want to just rip, because it’s a pain to reconstruct frogged cables. I didn’t want to tink, for obvious reasons. I’m working on size 1 DPNs, with a relatively “sticky” yarn, so I’m taking one needle out at a time, frogging down to the next needle, then reinserting the original needle to keep from dropping stitches. Faster than tinking, not as precarious as an unmitigated frog. (Hm. I think I came up with another name for a rock band, there. Pollyanna and the Unmitigated Frogs? Or just plain Unmitigated Frog? I think the latter. More genre-crossing. Punk-folk perhaps). Anyway, it’s a variation on the frogging technique where you insert a needle in the row where you want to stop frogging, sort of an afterthought lifeline.

I’m sure I’ll pick up the sock again tomorrow, but right now I’m pissed off with it and I’m starting a new hat for Darlin’ K instead. This will be a basic 2 x 2 rib, I think, or perhaps a deep 2×2 rib cuff, deep enough to turn up, with a stockinette body. We’ll see. I’m using a semi-mystery yarn from my stash. I know it’s wool and recycled silk, a fairly rough spin, worsted weight with a little thick ‘n’ thin action, but I can’t remember what it’s called. (Ball band? We don’ need no stinkin’ ball bands. Quick, what’s the reference?) It’s what’s left of a skein I used to make a large swatch for Knit One, Purl Too when they were still a brick-and-mortar store. Deep blue, with multi-colored strands of the silk shot through it. Poppy? Might be the brand name. A newish brand, not real big yet. Local to Colorado. I’ll post more when I can track it down.

I frogged the Sunny Garter Rib socks, because I was just too damned bored with the pattern. I thought it would be a good “easy/decompression” pattern between more difficult things, but the more difficult things turned out to be not so much, after all. (Except for decreasing my sock toe. Sheesh). So I’m looking for a more challenging pattern to put that yarn to use with. It’s Tofutsies, in a pretty Caribbean palette of turquoise, blue and yellow. Maybe the Monkey socks. Maybe Pomatomus. It doesn’t really stripe, it’s more speckled, so I think it would work with those two patterns.

Still working away on Darlin’ K’s Cabled Rib Cardigan and my Origami Cardigan. Those will be a while. Still haven’t touched Eris since I got to the DPN part on the first sleeve. Stupid, really–there is no seaming, so once I get the sleeves done, all that’s left is the blocking and I’ve got me a sweater. Don’t know why I can’t seem to pick it up, except maybe I’m burned out on the yarn. I like the Debbie Bliss Merino Aran okay, but it’s not my favorite yarn ever, and I have to say I’m glad I paid half price for it. (That was over two years ago at a store that was going out of business. Sorry). I mean, it’s not like I mind endless rounds of stockinette … oh, wait. I do.

I’m thinking about frogging Mr. B’s pullover (on which I’ve done about three inches) and starting over in a larger size. I have an odd feeling it won’t be done this winter. I haven’t even started Mr. R’s yet.

And I have got to muck out weed out find the rest of organize my stash. And my pattern stash. Oh, and figure out what needles I have.

This long weekend isn’t going to be long enough. I need a two week vacation with no distractions. And maybe a backhoe.

7 thoughts on “Pollyanna Tinks! She Frogs! She Doesn’t Knit (Much)!

  1. annaliza Post author

    Woops, sorry, Kelly. That’s what happens when you give in to the temptation to check on the blog when you’ve only got about 30 seconds. What I *meant* to say was … DING DING DING!! Kelly gets two points … and for extra credit, what is the movie Blazing Saddles was referring to? And the hint is still that Bogey was in it.

    And now I really hope I’m remembering the right movie. I should really leave all this movie stuff to Lyda.

    Reply
  2. Lyda

    I’m sorry I’ve been gone, but I can’t log onto the blog! I’m going into posting withdrawal!! Help help I’m bein’ repressed!! And running out of exclamation points!!

    Kelly wins! The “Blazing Saddles” quote is “Badges? We don’t need no stinking badges.” And it is indeed a reference to “The Treasure of the Sierra Madre” starring Humphrey Bogart, in which a bandit says, “Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges. I don’t have to show you any stinkin’ badges!”

    Kelly, I want to be Madeline Kahn when I grow up too! (I feel like lately I’ve been doing her “I’m tired…” routine… but I digress.)

    Reply
  3. lyda

    Or Madeleine Kahn AS Captain Janeway. Heh. I don’t think it would have taken Madeleine as long to jump on that hot first officer Chakotay. Yum!

    Plus, there would have been musical numbers on the bridge. Shiny!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

