Pollyanna: The Embarassment of Riches Chronicles, Chapter 3

Lyda here again.

So, here I go bragging about my new stash again. Hee hee. But ya’ll, it’s so pretty!

Now we come to the two grocery bags of goodies that my sneaky BFF Anna-Liza sent me. By way of Marin, who happened to be in the semi-neighborhood last weekend. If San Diego could be considered the semi-neighborhood of Orange County, which it usually isn’t, but what the hey. I think Marin needed a special suitcase just for my loot. Bwahahaha!

The yarn and the books are awesome. But the very best part of it all? The little notes tucked into each and every thing. To whit:

  • Two skeins of Porto Cervo in color 37, a sort of brown-tan. “A pretty nice cotton. Try not to knit it too tight – it’s not very stretchy. This is a light worsted or maybe a DK weight. Not sure of the yardage.”
  • One skein of Rowan All Seasons Cotton in shade 207, which goes from almost white-blue to deep aqua, 60% cotton, 40% acrylic – and it’s already rolled into a ball for me! Yes, I’m so spoiled! She says, “This is the full skein.”
  • One skein of Nature Spun worsted weight wool in “Mountain Purple” – a deep purple which I adore. “This is your basic worsted weight wool.” As opposed to your Lesser or Tropical Worsted Weight. “I hope it’s not too scratchy.” ‘Cause BBB knows that wool sometimes gives me a rash. “If it is, send it back and I’ll find you something else.” Another trip across the Pointy Mountains for this poor little homeless skein? “Or donate it.” Oh no. I’ll love it and pet it and call it George. “But it’s a good basic wool for you to experiment with.” It’s alive! It’s alive! Bwahaha!
  • Two skeins of Sinfonia sportweight cotton, in a lovely purple. “Enough sportweight cotton to make yourself a pretty scarf. It would be nice in a lacy pattern! Again, it’s not very stretchy, so try to loosen up your death grip a bit!” Heh. Trying to get me expand into lace and loosen my stitches. What are best friends for?!
  • A ball of turquoise-purple-pink yarn, and a ball of red with yellow-blue-green-purple sort of wrapped around the red. “I don’t know what these are. I suspect the turquoise/purple is acrylic and the red/multi is wool-based or maybe a really nice acrylic. I just thought they would be fun to play around with.” So I have permission to be silly with these two, to just play and have fun. Hurray!
  • A skein or so of a turquise yarn. “This is just worsted-weight acrylic. It’ll be good for trying out stitch patterns to see if you like them, though. I don’t know how much is here; it’s ancient stash. I made a sweater for (her oldest son, who is now… um, wait, I know this… 20? Ish?) when he was 3 and this was the contrast color!” Ancient stash, from the dawn of knitting time… Can’t you just see the giant ferns and the flying pteradactyls?!
  • A nice little ball of very soft light green yarn. “This is an inexpensive acrylic chenille I got from Hobby Lobby – the brand is Yarn Bee. There’s probably enough for a baby hat. It’s fun to work with and knits up nicely, but you don’t want to frog it very much.” What is she saying? Ribbit ribbit… Oh, excuse me…
  • One skein Sockotta (45% cotton, 40% superwash wool, 15% nylon) in color “505” which is striped/verigated light green, white, denim blue, apricot, pink… AND some size 3 DPNs. “Sock yarn (enough for one pair) and some size 3 DPNs. Because most people use size 2, and you’ve said you’re a tight knitter. (I use size 1s, usually.)” So, the Terror of the First Socks is coming to my door…
  • One very special ball of Plymouth Yarn Baby Alpaca Brush – spun in Peru, ya’ll! – in “color 2630,” a very light soft pretty yellow. “This is not a full skein – it’s leftover from a set of baby booties I made a while back.” Lucky baby! She told me over the phone that the baby’s mom is a knitter who appreciated the specialness of alpaca booties. “I just wanted you to have a chance to play with alpaca.”

Now, ya’ll. She shared her alpaca with me. What more could one ask for in a best friend?!

I’m not going to knit it. I’m just going to pet it.

She also sent four pairs of straight needles (ohhh, scary, kids!). And books. Did I tell you about the books?

Knitting books (bringing my collection to a grand total of 3 – three knitting books, ahahah)

  • Knitting in Plain English by Maggie Righetti “One of the classic knitting books! Have fun!” and another note on page 141, on the Feather and Fan Lace pattern: “This would be great as a scarf out of the purple cotton!” Isn’t that cool?! I’ll have to get on that… as soon as I can count again. “One, two, five…” “Three, sir.”
  • Knitting Starting Stitches from Lyric Books Limited. “Okay, the photos are dated and most of the ‘big’ patterns are hokey, but the stitch patterns are good, and they progress from easy to more difficult.”

And non-knitting books:

  • Witches’ Bane, the second China Bayles mystery by Susan Wittig Albert
  • The Shop on Blossom Street by Debbie Macomber. Anna-Liza’s note says: “Complete fluff, with knitting.”
  • The Thin Woman by Dorothy Cannell. “A fun murder mystery with a very likeable heroine. Nothing to do with ‘The Thin Man’ movies, though.”
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. “If you haven’t run across this before, you are going to really like this one.”

My cup runneth over…

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna: The Embarassment of Riches Chronicles, Chapter 3

  1. Marin

    First, Jasper Fforde is a god among mortal writers. And that’s all I have to say about that.

    Second:

    Dear Anna-Liza,

    Let Lyda knit tight. It will be hard for other people to help her out if she, say, needs a village to knit a stupid blanket, but all her stitches will be forever even and neat and she’ll never know the horrors of rowing out.

    XOXO
    M

    Reply
  2. annaliza

    That’s all true, Marin, and I have no objection to every knitter knitting her/his own way, but if she’s knitting cotton her hands will hurt. (The Jasper Fforde comment is true, as well).

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pollyanna and the Endless Recovery « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

