Pollyanna and the Endless Recovery

Lyda here. And yes, I know it’s only been a week, and it was major surgery and all, but sheesh! Enough with the boring recovery stuff!

I have had a lot of time to spend with the Resident Sith Master, and that is always good. He even played Halo with me, and we’ve watched a couple of movies. And way too much TV. Why does daytime TV have to be so awful? But oh, ya’ll do not want me to digress there!

The time with the Gorgeous and Available Engineer brother was great too. He handled unbelievable amounts of paperwork for me, and got the car’s oil changed, and brotherly stuff like that.

After the operation, and the next day, I just watched TV in the hospital and dozed. The first days home were much the same, but napping is sure better with the Dread Cat Tommy curled up and purring.

Gradually, the reading increased. I’ve worked my way through most of the books Anna-Liza sent:

  • Witches’ Bane, the second China Bayles mystery by Susan Wittig Albert – I enjoyed it.
  • The Shop on Blossom Street by Debbie Macomber. Anna-Liza’s note says: “Complete fluff, with knitting.” – Perfect fluff for recovery.
  • The Thin Woman by Dorothy Cannell. “A fun murder mystery with a very likeable heroine. Nothing to do with ‘The Thin Man’ movies, though.” Fun. This one helped me through a weird night of sleeping one hour and then being wide awake for an hour, and then sleeping again.
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. “If you haven’t run across this before, you are going to really like this one.” Reading this one now that I’m able to follow a more complex plot.

Big Brother also gave me books – of course. I just finished the newest Terry Pratchett, “Making Money” – in hardback no less! Excellent! He also gave me a copy of “Wicked,” and told me to let him know how it was. Barely started this one.

A lot of reading, a lot of TV, a lot of sleeping. And tiny tiny walks of five minutes at a time.

The best news is I am finally feeling up to knitting! I decided to start with the yarn that KarenM sent me, Yarn Bee Mosaic Twist in the “Fruity” colorway. I’m using the size 13 metal 29″ circulars that Karen included – forgot to include these in the post about this, I’ve added it. Not only are they the perfect size for this yarn for a tight knitter like me, but – they are metallic purple and they look cool with the yarn! Shiny!

I cast on 100 stitches, because I thought I’d see if I can make a baby blanket. Not that there is a baby in the picture anywhere really, but I thought it would be a good project for this yarn, which is really soft and has lots of different kind-of-pastel colors in it. I’m just knitting every row. I’m not really up to counting or anything. I’m not even sure I’m up to this, but we’ll see how it comes out. What the heck! There’s always frogging…

I can hear the whisper now…

“Ribbit ribbit…”

9 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Endless Recovery

  1. KarenM.

    I am so giggling right now, I do love me a good video game now and then, only my boys make fun of me cause I am a wimp, and they must always rescue me and I do things like shut my eyes and shoot at zombies in circles 🙂
    Glad to hear you are feeling better…. and as for the frogging? The stuff frogs well….ask me how I know ;-p

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    Thanks, Red and Trula. Ya’ll are sweet!

    KarenM: Heh. The boys make fun of me when I play too; I tend to shoot what’s in front of me and not notice that another zombie is hitting me from behind. I’ll have to try shooting in circles!

    And heh again. I already had to frog it. I’m now doing it again with 80 stitches instead of 100.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

