Pollyanna Greets the New Year

Lyda here. Yes, greeting the new year a day late. Hey, yesterday was my birthday, and I did nothing but fun stuff with my son.

We saw a movie – of course. What did you expect me to do on my special day?! Ya’ll know I’m a movie addict, and happy with it. Of all the things I might resolve to change in this new year, my Massive Movie Addiction is so not one of them. Oh, but I digress…

And that’s not changing either. Just so ya’ll know. Oh yeah, ending a digression by starting another one. I am the Queen.

We saw the new “National Treasure” movie and enjoyed it thoroughly. Nicolas Cage being smart and passionate and cute, action, adventure, humor – what more could I want for my birthday movie? But I got more – the super special bonus of Helen Mirren in all her classy feisty smart goodness. I want to be her some day. Or Nora, of course. Do you think Helen knits? I bet she does. All the best people do. Oh, digressing again…

We had a wonderful feast of My Famous Roast Chicken (TM) and there are leftovers for me tonight, woo-hoo! We played video games, and he even played “Star Wars Legos II” with me – a game he finds annoying, especially when played with me – because it was my birthday. I love that game – when you shoot a Storm Trooper, they explode into their component legos which I think is hilarious. And the Lego Han Solo is a goofball. Silly!

We sat down to our dinner and a movie – we were planning on watching the “Narnia” DVD a friend loaned us. But we were interupted – first by a phone call from My Brother The Doctor, and then by the Evil Stepmother stopping by with goodies. So lots of talking and laughing ensued, and we gave up on the movie and went to bed. Earlier in the day, my sis and my Gorgeous And Younger brother had each called me. I had talked to Gorgeous and Available Engineer bro the day before. And BFF and I had a very long chat on Sunday. If I were a Sim, my “Social” bar would definitely be full.

On New Year’s Eve, I got a call from Second Son “Chuck Norris” which was a fantastic and unexpected gift. He loves the “Chuck Norris Bites Frost” scarf – of course, I had also sent a copy of the entry on naming it that, which made him laugh. His sister loves the Global Warming scarf. His mom is jealous and is threatening to borrow both scarves. Look, references to knitting! I bet that surprised ya’ll!

I spent Monday puttering about the house doing some repairs and such, and most importantly –

DRUM ROLL PLEASE

Piecing together the back of the Frog Prince Quilt! Oh yes I did! As always, it took longer than I thought it would, so I didn’t have time to pin together the layers of the quilt, but the machine sewing is DONE for this quilt. Do the Happy Dance!

The Resident Sith Master is at his dad’s the rest of this week, so I can get some more done on both quilts. And cast on the scarf for GAAE brother. And watch lots of TV, of course. But not as much as I have been, because…

Today is my first day back at work. I’m feeling good and feisty and ready for this. Especially for earning money after a month of no income. Money good.

I’m still working on my New Year’s resolutions, such as they will be. Being gentle with myself is the most important thing, and my resolutions will reflect that. So, ya’ll can expect a big ol’ post about that soon. I know you can hardly wait. Oh, hush.

In fact, there will be many posts. I’m working on a Weirdness post right now (which I hope will make you laugh and therefore live long and prosper – big ol’ hint). And then there is a link Anna-Liza sent me, which makes a fine beginning to another post…

Yes, there will be many posts and much weirdness and TV and movies, and hopefully a zombie or two. And oh yeah, fiber.

Ah, I missed posting every day. I missed ya’ll. 

I’m baaacccccccccckkkkkkkkkk!

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna Greets the New Year

  1. Jane

    Sing to the tune of the 1812 Overture:

    Happy happy birthday
    Happy happy birthday
    Happy happy birthday
    HAAAAAPPY happy birthday
    Happy happy happy happy happy happy birthday
    Happy happy happy happy happy happy BIRRRRTHDAY!
    OOOOOHHHHHH…..
    Happy happy birthday
    Happy happy birthday
    Happy happy birthday
    HAAAAAPPY happy birthday.

    etc. The great thing about this song is that you can keep singing as long as you want to!
    I sure do hope you know the 1812 Overture, you know it was the theme song for the Lone Ranger.
    Though that may have been before your time.

    Sounds like you had a good one!

    KIP – I knit at red-lights! If I had the nerve I would knit in church – I know I would listen better!

    Jane

    PS I am the queen.

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    Hee hee. Queen Lyda. I like that. Thank you, thank you, thank you, my loyal subjects.

    Jane, knitting in church is better than napping, right? Hey, what about idle hands and all that?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

