Pollyanna Casts On and Casts About

Lyda here. So, let’s check to see what actually happened yesterday versus the 98% probabilities in yesterday’s post.

Rain, video games, sleeping cat – check. Sex still hypothetical – check.

Cooking – check. Making hard boiled eggs counts, right?

Trip to fabric store for more batting – uh, no. The Frog Prince Quilt will have to wait. See: rain, video games, sleeping cat. Also see: laziness.

Cast on scarf for Gorgeous and Available Engineer brother – check. LOOK, KNITTING!

I cast on 150 stitches in the Lumberjack (red and black twisted together) colorway of the Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick yarn , on size 13 circular needles. This scarf will be much like the “Chuck Norris Bites Frost” scarf – same yarn (in Lumberjack and gray for this scarf), same mindless garter stitch. Mindless knitting means I can focus on the zombies, ya’ll. For the other scarf, I knit two parts of 100 stitches long, and joined them together. I think 150 stitches will still yield a really long scarf, and without the join in the middle. I’m doing stripes the length of the scarf again; I really love knitting this way as it disguises my ineptitude at turning corners  creates neat edges along the length of the scarf.

Keep reading – there is a contest at the end!!

No zombie movies this weekend. But we did watch an episode of “Dead Like Me” which we were thrilled to find on one of our channels. And when I say “our channels” I mean one of the ones we get on our cable-less TV. If  I meant “our channels” as in we own the TV channels – well, ya’ll know there would be more sci-fi and zombies to watch. Oh, the power! But I digress… We have seen every episode of “Dead Like Me” that we could rent at the video store- hello! Reapers! Ya’ll know I’m there! – but I’ll happily watch this quirky show any time. Performances with humor and depth, scripts with lots of funny moments and a deep respect for the human experience in all its weird and wonderful glory. Super special awesome!

I also watched the second half of a movie I’ve never seen before, “Poison Ivy” (1992) with Drew Barrymore and Melissa Gilbert. I swear, I know she’s a grown and sexy woman, but everytime I see Drew Barrymore, I think, “The kid from ‘E.T.’!”  How can she be an adult now, and yet Pollyanna has not aged a day? Must be some weird time-space continum thing. Oh, sorry, digressing again… I liked Melissa Gilbert; she gave a subtle performance in a role that could have been over-the-top.

Although there were not any actual zombies in this movie, one of the characters becomes a bit zombie-like by the end. At one point, a goth guy gives her a ride and says, “Nice outfit. Did you do the blood yourself?”

And now for the contest: CASTING ABOUT FOR A NAME

The scarf for Gorgeous and Available Engineer Brother needs a name. What should it be? 

Give me your suggestions in the comments to this post. The winner will get the honor of having their name used for this VIP (Very Important Project). The name will doubtless be used in many posts. The glory, it’s all about the glory!

And there may be another little silly-fun prize forthcoming, but it will be surprise prize. Go on, buy a pig in a poke. Then you can lick it.

The winning name will be decided by our judges, the Pollyannas, based on which one makes us laugh hardest. Tie-breakers to be determined by our impartial judge, the Resident Sith Master.

Here are some points to consider:

  • One of the colorways is called “Lumberjack.”
  • The other colorway is a heathery gray.
  • The scarf is projected to be at least six feet long.
  • GAAE bro shaves his head.
  • We grew up in the theater.
  • GAAE bro loves P.G. Wodehouse,
  • pirates,
  • Gilbert and Sullivan,
  • Monty Python,
  • and sci-fi.

Got it? Okay – – GO!!

7 thoughts on “Pollyanna Casts On and Casts About

  1. KarenM.

    The “I’m a lumberjack and I’m OK” scarf. Not too much longer than “Chuck Norris bites frost”
    and you could shorten it to IALAIO and REALLY confuse people 🙂

    Reply
  2. Kelly

    The Lumber Jack Of The Lake Scarf!

    (Oh, but you can’t expect to wield supreme executive power just because some watery tart threw a scarf at you!)

    XOXO
    Kelly

    Reply
  3. mintlatte

    I really wish I could think of a name that used the words “watery tart” I practially doused my screen in coffe when I read that….
    And yup this is THE mintlatte, but I MOVED!!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Pollyanna Wields Supreme Executive Power - CONTEST WINNERS! « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  5. Pingback: Pollyanna Gifts It - Gifts It Good « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

