Pollyanna and The Meaning of Texas

Hi, Anna-Liza here.

I just recently discovered that Marin, Lyda and I have all lived in Texas at various points in our lives. Well, I already know about me and Lyda–we met each other at the University of Houston. I found out about the Marin-Texas connection here. Marin and I even lived in the same area (but at different times).

So, let’s see, we all are book fiends, we’re all serious fiber addicts, we all have had … colorful … romantic histories. (And when I say romantic, I mean sexual). We all love Good Omens, good theater, and Monty Python. We’re all geeks.

So what is it, something in the water? I mean, none of us are precisely what people think of when they’re thinking “women from Texas”, but we are damn near separated-at-birth status.

I love Texas, bless its big ol’ goofy heart! Anyplace that can produce Molly Ivins, Janis Joplin, Gene Roddenberry, Tommy Tune and Ann Richards has some serious good mojo working for it. Then again, Texas also produced Bonnie & Clyde and George W. Bush (but not his father).

Oh, one other thing we have in common–none of us live in Texas anymore.

5 thoughts on “Pollyanna and The Meaning of Texas

  1. mintlatte

    I lived in Texas when I was three. All I remember was the goodyear blimp made scheduled flyovers and I had a huge butterfly on my wall. Oh and the time I pushe my brother into a hill of fireants…..gotta love Texas 🙂

    Reply
  2. Marin

    Women too smart (and not blonde enough) to aspire to become Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders or Miss Texas take the geek route, learn to love Misters Pratchett and Python and move away before the hairspray sucks them in.

    It’s a rough theory, but I think I’m on to something.

    Reply
  3. lyda

    All of you crack me up. I put the diet soda down
    just in time…

    Hmm… Marin, your theory intrigues me… “Run, run, the hairspray is after us!!”

    Reply
  4. annaliza Post author

    I should perhaps *not* have blamed Texas entirely for W. He was born in Connecticut. But he did grow up in Midland.

    I had big curly hair at two different points in my life … Lyda, do you remember that? But it’s never been red.

    Reply
  5. lyda

    Big curly hair… ah yes. Good times, good times. Not even spray-in red streaks for a costume? I thought I remembered spray-in streaks…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

