Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and All the Creatures of Narnia

Hey, Anna-Liza here. Congratulations, Lyda! And wow, Marin, you really went all out, didn’t you! Very cool swag. I did consider entering, but thought I ought to be disqualified on the basis of having a mate. Even if I had, I couldn’t have come up with something nearly as good as Lyda’s entry.

I’m home sick from work today, and I’ve spent most of the day in bed crying my eyes out over the Anne of Green Gables books–I seem to be in need of rereading the whole series, even though they always make me cry. So I’m stuffed up and sniffly from the cold and even more so from the crying. But hey, it’s supposed to be good for you, right?

But what I really want to tell you about is “Frozen Balls: a Carnival in Narnia“. I mentioned it a little while ago, when I was trying to figure out a costume for it. (I forgot the camera again, but there are pictures here.) The event was very much fun, and the costumes were great! I was relatively subtle as a Frost Spirit. I wore my grey velvet Tibetan tunic over black leggings with lace bells at the bottom, black boots, and white/gold and lavender sheer ribbons streaming down my back. Darlin’ K was in firespinner’s gear–mostly black, with gold and bronze makeup and other touches.

K had forgotten the makeup when he went and forgot to ask me to bring it, so we had to improvise. I got some bronze lipstick, black liquid eyeliner, and a three-color palette of eyeshadow in bronzes and golds from the grocery store. First I did the outlines in the eyeliner, then I filled in the places where I wanted color with the lipstick, then I put a thick coating of the eyeshadow on top of the lipstick. It was more a face-paint effect I was after, and this worked great! The color stayed really well (and firespinners can be hard on makeup) and the shapes didn’t smudge. So there’s a handy tip if you ever need it for costume purposes!

The event took place in three areas. The main thing with the DJ and various interactive installations was in the big main room–the Performing Arts Center at Naropa. There was a room set up for the Frozen Balls Cabaret, with a small stage, and there was a patio area where they had the fire show. Things ran late, as these things tend to do, and the fire show ended up starting about half an hour later than originally planned. It was cold, too, but when one is whirling lit poi or other items around, it’s not such a bad thing. After the show, we went and joined the party and danced ’til about 15 mintues before the music shut down at 1 a.m. By that time, my feet hurt enough that I wasn’t more than slightly tempted to get back on the dance floor when “Jungle Boogie” came on!

My favorite moment came at midnight. That was when the ceremonial transformation took place of Fire Pig to Earth Rat … in the form of Fire Pig, a woman in a bright red bustier, etc. and a pig nose, did a burlesque dance culminating in the taking off of the pig nose and the donning of a rat nose. It was extremely funny, and I can’t possibly do it justice here. And then … everyone did the Electric Slide. Think about it. A very large room filled with unicorns and ice queens and fauns and other randomly costumed people, almost all of whom were lined up doing the Electric Slide. (I couldn’t remember the steps, so I just watched and appreciated the moment). This turned into a conga line, which I did join, and then people started dancing “normally” again.

They did a great job with all the Narnia references. There was a large (working) lamppost, there was snow, there was Mr. Tumnus on a large chair where people could sit on his lap and tell him wishes. There was a “sledding hill” through a white tunnel. There was hot chocolate with marshmallows and frosted ginger snaps.

I just wish I’d had time to see more of the cabaret performances—what I did see was really good. I think my favorite was a guy in drag teaching the crowd to do the Mashed Potato … but I only got to see a little bit of that.

On the knitting front, you’d think I would have made some good progress today, since I’ve been in bed except for meals and potty breaks (oh, and blogging), but I haven’t knit a stitch. I frogged Mr. B’s sweater back to where it was before the caucus and have been increasing more, to make the whole thing wider. He’s been eating like a wolf pup for a couple of weeks, and I’m sure he’s starting a growth spurt. I’d rather frog now and only have to redo a couple of inches than be too stubborn about it and have the whole thing be too small! But it was a little discouraging–I had been so excited about getting the sleeves onto the holders and being down to the main body! Oh well, if I knit on it some this afternoon, I may be ready to put the sleeves on the holders again by tonight. The top-down raglan construction does make it easy to adjust!

And now, I think I’ll go drink my herbal tea and go back to bed. I hope I feel better tomorrow–I hate being sick! And I’ve been sick so frequently lately it’s gotten to be extra annoying. I wonder if it’s the new job–you know, like when a kid goes to a new school and isn’t “used to” the germs and gets sick a lot … if that’s the case, then hopefully this will happen less and less frequently.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and All the Creatures of Narnia

  1. QualityBargainz

    We collect pictures of people wearing pig noses for publication on our web site. Do you have a picture of the lady wearing the pig nose in the ceremonial transformation? That would be awesome to see!

    Reply
  2. annaliza Post author

    No, I don’t. I believe there were some pictures of her on their website, but I’m afraid I don’t remember the URL anymore. You might try googling “Naropa” and “Narnia”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

