Pollyanna and the Random Weirdness of Our Favorite Things

Lyda here. Been bummed out lately, nothing huge, just the usual stuff which I refuse to whine about here. Any more, I mean. At least today. Oh, hush. A sad Pollyanna is a contradiction in terms, right?

So, I was reading through our blog list – which I try to do every day at least once; yes, I keep up with the objects of my stalking  my peeps – and I read this “favorite things” post over at Faith’s blog. It made me smile. I clicked the links and they made me smile. Shiny.

So I thought, how about a Random Weirdness post about favorite things?

We’ll take it as given that we all love our families, our friends, our pets, fiber in all its glorious forms, chocolate, alcohol – the things required for life. Ya’ll know.

Let’s go with Random Weird stuff today. Little things, quirky things. Odd, bizarre, strange things.

Why do we love the weird things we do? Because we’re weird? Because we’re 12? Maybe we were dropped  on our collective heads when we were babies. Whatev. Certain random weird things make us happy. And happy is good enough reason for me.

Feel free to join in! Leave a comment with some of your favorite Random Weird things. If you do this on your blog, leave a comment with a link so we can all enjoy your weirdness  favorites. Please comment! Don’t leave me all alone in my weirdness. Hello? Bueller? Bueller?

Okay here we go. Cue Julie Andrews.

These are a few of My Favorite Weird Things:

1) Dinosaurs.

I’ve always loved them, always will. And when the Resident Sith Master was little, he fell in love with them too. We went to dinosaur exhibits at museums, we read dinosaur books, we drew dinosaurs and played with dinosaur toys. He wanted to be a paleontologist and study dinosaurs when he grew up. He said I could come and help him as he dug up the bones. All together: Awww. It was hard for him to tell me, years later, that he had changed his mind about this career choice. But the point of it wasn’t the dinosaurs – the point was that we were sharing them, and I got to help give his dreams wings.

Last night, we watched a Nova episode about flying dinosaurs. It was awesome. We got to share dinos again.

 4wingeddino.jpg

Flying dino happiness.

2) Cheesy old horror movies.

Why do I love these? I don’t know. They crack me up. I love it when the monster is clawing someone, and you can see the rubber claws bending. I love that the plots make no sense. The worse they are, the better I like them.

plan9fromouterspace.jpg

I love that the woman always goes up to the attic with a candle when she hears weird noises. She is always wearing a long white nightgown, which is not really perfect attire for kicking monster butt. For perfect monster-kicking attire, refer to Buffy.

Do the long white nightgowns come with creepy old houses? I mean, when the realtor hands you the keys, does she hand you a white nightgown too? 

“All of our friends are disappearing one by one. Let’s go skinny dipping in the lake.” 

Cheesy happiness. 

3) Frogs.

I love the little amphibians. No, not because of this movie:

frogsfilmposter.jpg 

That would belong in #2 above.

Warning: Cute Kid Story.One day I was driving the then-toddler Sith Master somewhere, and it was very foggy. He said, “It’s very froggy today.”

We decided a frog had made the fog. And my first children’s book, “The Frog Who Created the Fog” was born. Hello, agents and publishers? Hello? I’ve been nuts about frogs ever since.

whitelippedtreefrog.jpg

Leaping happiness.

4) Goofy sci-fi.

All sci-fi reminds me of watching “Star Trek” with GAAE brother. So I get the fun of sci-fi and the goodness of my bro, all in one.I love good sci-fi, but goofy sci-fi is one of my weird joys.

Captain Kirk buried in tribbles.

tribbles3.jpg

Fuzzy happiness.

5) Random quoting.

Books, movies, video games, conversations – I’ll randomly quote almost anything at almost any time. As ya’ll may have noticed.

montypythonholygrailcastshot.jpg

Let’s not go to Camelot. Tis a silly place. 

Watery tart happiness.

6) This video game

I have to be careful not to let it eat up all my time. I mean, I could be knitting! This is a weirdly meditative thing for me. I spent three hours playing it last night.

RSM told me that he got this game because he knew I’d like it.

Shiny happiness.

7) Cleaning.

Ya’ll know I’ve got a cleaning compulsion. Or obsession. Or disease. Whatev. I especially love to clean out and organize a closet (see yesterday’s post), a garage, or a filing cabinet. I actually like to do this for other people, which is truly weird. I also like the really gritty work – scrubbing and such.

One of the worst things for me about fibromyalgia is that I can’t indulge in my cleaning sprees like I used to. At this point I need to hire a cleaning person (which I can’t afford yet) and I think this is ironic as hell. Is hell ironic?

I’d love to hire this cleaning woman:

carolburnettascleaning-woman.jpg

But I digress… 

I know, it’s a weird sickness. But it’s a happy-making sickness.

8.) PBS.

I just love it. History, science, how-to shows, and great theater. Nature, Nova, Mystery, Masterpiece Theater, This Old House, Live at the Met – too many great shows to mention. And the silliness of Sesame Street. And they still show Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood, which is a warm haven in a chaotic world. By all reports he was always that gentle and kind in person too. That makes me happy.

That’s eight. Eight shows mentioned by name. Ahahahaha  (thunder)

Commercial-free happiness.

9) America’s Next Top Model.

I’m embarrassed that I watch this show. It’s a fashion train wreck every time. For some reason, I love seeing the hopefuls struggling with the weird and wonderful tasks each week. I could do with less of the diva drama, but I still hate to miss a show. Next week, the new gals get their haircuts. Drama will inevitably ensue.

Whitney rocks it:

 cw-antm10-whitney.jpg

But Claire’s leg warmers?! So ten minutes ago.

cw-antm10-claire.jpg

Crazy happiness.

10) Zombies.

What, ya’ll knew about this one already?

Ever since Second Son indoctrinated me with “Shaun of the Dead“, I’ve been a zombie lover. I am not the only one; here’s a funny review of the book “The Zen of the Zombie.”

Remember this? From when he was famous for his music?

michael_jackson-thriller_.jpg

Zombies have brought me fame and fortune and everything that goes with it, I thank you all. Lots and lots of fortune.

Last night, I stayed up late watching “CSI:NY” because it was a episode with zombies (the episode is titled “Boo”) . I’m a zombie myself today from lack of sleep, but it was worth it.

Zombie happiness.

Heh, I said I’m a zombie lover. Does this mean I’ve been dating zombies?

It would explain a lot…

6 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Random Weirdness of Our Favorite Things

  1. Red

    I love that you can see the strings on the flying saucers in Plan 9 and that the vampire looking guy dies towards the end so you see him in random shots as the film people try not to suddenly drop him from the plot.

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    I know, it’s just so awesomely cheesy. Vampires AND flying saucers! I also love the vampire woman – who apparently thinks that vampires are supposed to move and act zombielike. Such amazing acting talent! Ah, Ed Wood, what a director!

    Reply
  3. Anna-Liza

    I can’t remember which movie it was, but when I was a kid, I remember watching an old horror movie with my dad that involved a glowing woman with a flip hair-do who basically did nothing but walk through the woods in a slinky manner …

    Reply
  4. lyda Post author

    Heh, I wish I’d seen it.

    Who know what danger lurks in those glowing slinky women? Especially when they have a flip hair-do. Extremely scary.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Pollyanna and Meme Monday « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  6. Pingback: Pollyanna Plays with Fabric « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

