Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Is Outnumbered

Seriously. Oh, Anna-Liza here.

We’re having two of the kids’ friends over for a slumber party–so now there are two 6-year-olds and two 4-year-olds, all boys, eating breakfast in the living room, watching the first DVD in the Avatar series (I actually really like that show myself). Oh, and Darlin’ K is in there, too. I’m taking a little break out here in the office to get a little peace write this post.

The cat and I are the only females in this house to begin with, and since I got my tubes tied we have more in common than ever! But she doesn’t knit. She does like all the stuff I use in knitting, but she’d rather deconstruct than construct. I guess the lack of opposable thumbs has something to do with it.

Our guests weren’t due to arrive until 5:30 yesterday, but don’t go thinking I got anything practical done. We went to Asia Day at the University of Colorado, where we watched a Taiko demonstration/performance. The demonstration included audience participation, so I got up on stage and got to drum on one of the big drums. They taught us a really basic pattern, which involved a simple “right/left” beat and chant (basically “one-two” in Japanese). The beat gradually got faster and faster and culminated in a really fast drum roll, while shouting. No words, just a long shout until I was out of breath, then more shouting until the drum roll was done. Then we went back to the original beat for the end. It was a lot of fun! Then Mr. B wanted to try it, so I knelt behind him at the smallest drum and helped him do it. He really liked it too. Unfortunately, both Darlin’ K and I forgot the camera!

Bonus: they gave out door prizes at the performance, and Mr. R. won a pretty little Japanese rice paper doll on a little stand, and Darlin’ K won a gift certificate to a well-known Boulder sushi restaurant. Date night, here we come!

After that, we spent an hour at a friend’s 50th birthday party. I ended up spending most of the time talking to a weaver and a quilter there! And then we got home with about ten minutes to spare before Q and J got here.

Bedtime wasn’t too bad. We let them stay up until about 10:30, then told them they could talk and giggle all they wanted, but the lights had to be out and they had to be lying down. They were up by about 7 this morning … except, with the Daylight Savings Time change, it was 8.

I’m really not a big fan of Daylight Savings Time. I’m especially not a fan of it starting before Easter.

I made bacon and scrambled eggs for breakfast, while Darlin’ K sliced up cantaloupe and got the drinks and plates ready. I usually drink tea in the mornings, but today I made a pot of coffee. By the time I’d finished cooking (and sampling the bacon and drinking my coffee) I wasn’t hungry anymore! I did have some cantaloupe, too–it wasn’t completely a bacon-and-coffee breakfast.

We’ll probably take them to The Evil McEmpire® for lunch and an extended playtime. I’ll take knitting with me–I’ve only got about two more inches to go on Mr. B’s sweater body before doing the ribbing (maybe less than that), and I got the size 3 DPNs to do the sleeves yesterday when we were in Boulder. I plan on a good hour and a half to two hours of knitting while the kids play, so I’m hoping to get the body finished and maybe get the first sleeve going. It’s a top-down raglan, so I just have to pick up the stitches and start knitting. There’s not really much shaping–I might decrease a bit, but his arms are still plump and I don’t want the sleeves to be too tight. I also want to allow enough ease for him to wear something under the sweater.

When I bought the needles, I also signed up for the drop spindle class I mentioned–so maybe I’ll finally be able to get past the “park and draft” spinning method by the end of this month!! 

I expect I’ll have even more knitting time this Saturday, when I attend the Democratic County Convention & Assembly. I’m a delegate to the Assembly and an alternate to the Convention. Maybe I’ll even finish the sweater! (Obviously, I have my priorities straight).

Our guests will be with us until after dinner. They’re siblings, and their parents and older siblings are going skiing today. Our families do a lot of reciprocal childcare–it’s a pretty nice arrangement.

Now, back into the fray.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine Is Outnumbered

  1. lyda

    The cat would “rather deconstruct than construct. I guess the lack of opposable thumbs has something to do with it.” Snort!

    You freak me out with your sweaters and socks and all. But I started a new scarf… and I’m happy with scarfing for now. (Heh, I’m also scarfing my breakfast as I write this.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

