Pollyanna and the Endless Yard Sale

Lyda here. So, Anna-Liza is off fondling yarn and meeting bloggers and having a high old time. Me? I’ve been hocking my wares in the hot California sun.

Today was our big yard sale. I spent most of yesterday going through the kitchen, pulling out stuff for the sale, and then pricing everything. About 11 last night, I loaded the last of the crap  wonderful treasures into the car and crawled off to bed.

The alarm went off at 6:30 this morning. Which is way too early for a Saturday. But I staggered out of bed and into the shower, and even remembered to slap some sunscreen on my face. The Resident Sith Master got up too, and we headed out.

Because my apartment isn’t right on the street, the sale was at a friend’s house. People were digging through the stuff while we were still dragging stuff out of the car.

The sale went pretty well – I made some money and gave RSM 20% for his assistance, and my friend made a little money too. About 2, I piled some of the stuff into the car and took it to a donation center. My friend volunteered to take the rest in her car.

I have a feeling of wonderful lightness. Every room in our place has been purged of unwanted, unneeded, outgrown stuff. Only the garage remains. But that’s for another day. Or two. Or eleven. I’m thinking that I will do it a bit at a time. But ya’ll know how crazy I am…

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Endless Yard Sale

  1. Jane

    I am doing the same thing – my summer project is to get rid of everything I don’t need or love.
    Only I’m taking it load by load to Goodwill. I just don’t want to have a yardsale – too much work!

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    Hurray, Jane! And I agree, yard sales are a lot of work. Usually I just take it to Goodwill, but this time I had some higher value items… and a need for cash. Heh.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pollyanna Battles the Stash that Tried to Take Over the World « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

