Pollyanna and the Weirdness of California

Lyda here. There is a possibility that I’ll be moving to Texas. Actually, it looks like it’s going to happen. The only question is when. Or if I’ll get shanghaied and end up in Colorado instead.  This explains why this song keeps going through my head, right?

So, just because I feel the need for a Random Weirdness post – don’t I always? – and just because California been berry berry good to me…

Pollyanna presents:

The Random Weirdness of California

1.) Two words: Holy Wood. Oh, wait, that’s Discworld. Okay, one word: Hollywood. It’s got to be one of the top weirdnesses of the state. It can take a nice boy from Iowa, change his name to John Wayne, and create a legend.

I picked John Wayne because we got a hit from someone searching for “John Wayne fabric” – and of course I had to do the same search. Zombie see, zombie do. Actually, “zombie see, zombie eat brains.”  And also because John Wayne is associated with both California and Texas. But mostly because it appeals to the twelve-year-old cowgirl in me. John Wayne, John Wayne!

But I digress…

What was I saying? Oh yes. John Wayne, the legend.

A legend you could sleep with, if you made a quilt with this fabric. A legend you could eat with, if you bought one of these John Wayne salt-and-pepper shaker sets. Scroll down, past the John Wayne pencil sharpener and the John Wayne lunch boxes. I like the coffee mug and cup set; you might prefer the stagecoach. But as much as I like zombies, I don’t want to be shaking a dead man’s boots over my breakfast. I’m just saying.

John Wayne. The man. The legend. The seasoning.

2.) The Govenator. ‘Nuff said.

3.) But Californians care about the environment. No, really.

Pay no attention to the congestion on the freeways…

4.) Seriously, this could only happen in California. Heh.

5.) At least when I had mice in my house, no one went to the emergency room. Not so for these California folks.

6.) Earthquakes. “Each year the southern California area has about 10,000 earthquakes.”  I’m guessing it’s because of this (quote from that same website):

“The average rate of motion across the San Andreas Fault Zone during the past 3 million years is 56 mm/yr (2 in/yr). This is about the same rate at which your fingernails grow. Assuming this rate continues, scientists project that Los Angeles and San Francisco will be adjacent to one another in approximately 15 million years.” (emphasis mine)

Just imagine the traffic then!

7.) Fires. Every year, the state burns. A lot.

Living in So. Cal., one learns that a fire that is 80% contained is not 80% out, but that 80% of it is controlled and not expected to spread – while 20% continues to burn out of control. And if the wind changes, all bets are off.

8.) Banking weirdness.

9.) And strange hot spots: look at the new California weirdness!

10.) California is so weird that there is a website all about the California weirdness. Which tells us all about the Banana Museum, for one thing.

And a book. I’ll have to see if the library has that.

For research, doncha know.

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Weirdness of California

  1. lyda Post author

    Why what? Oh, why the move?

    Money. Basically. GAAE brother has offered me a house rent free while I get back on my feet financially. The temp work is drying up badly here, and I’m in debt to my doctors up to my eyeballs. (As I’ve mentioned many times, I need a real job.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

