Pollyanna Versus the Ennui of the Weekend

Lyda here. Perhaps it isn’t ennui. Perhaps it’s my old nemesis, the Depression of Doom. Nothing new, just the constant and endless same old shit.

So, Saturday I cleaned. Obsessively. The bathroom and the kitchen. And I did the laundry, but not obsessively. I just washed the clothes and towels.

And did nothing much else but watch the Olympics (more on that in the next post).  No quilting. No knitting. No work on all the other things I need to do.

And I caught up on your blogs. Thank you all for being so funny and insightful and wonderful.

I discovered that search terms are weird on other blogs too. Like over at The Velvet Cerebellum. Ya’ll may know her as Auntie Bubbo on Ravelry.

Reading Mason-Dixon Knitting lead me to these two places:

and

  • What’s in Your Hope Chest? on CraftStylish – Which is a weird concept to me. Why a hope chest? Why aren’t you using it NOW? I understand a memory chest, and I understand why girls used to have hope chests. Making and collecting things for your own home while you were living with your parents made sense back then. But to me, now it would be the same as people who have fancy china and never use it. If you love it, USE IT! But I digress… What a shock…

That article is written by Jennifer Worick, who wrote The Prairie Girl’s Guide to Life  which has instructions to do all kinds of prairie crafts, which could be fun. Or at least help us appreciate that we don’t have to do things that way any more.

She’s also the co-author of The Worse-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Dating and Sex. Check out the Table of Contents; there’s a chapter on dealing with a bad kisser.

This book could be helpful.

But it doesn’t say anything about how to tell if your date is a zombie. Or what to do if he is a zombie.

My advice?

If your date is a sickly green, smells like dead meat, and mumbles “Brains…” – get out of there FAST!

And remember, a shovel is a girl’s best friend.

Or you could send him my way. He can join the Zombie Army.

We’re going to need reinforcements when the Sporks Wars come. You have to read the comments to understand about the Spork Wars. How many times have I told ya’ll, always read the comments on Marin’s blog?! Okay, I don’t know either, but I must have mentioned it at some point. I usually copy and paste the footnotes into a Word document too, so I can read the footnotes as I read the post without scrolling around too much.

Heh. Scrolling around. That pleases my twelveness.

Look at me, digressing all over the place…

But since I’m doing it anyway…

Heh. I said I’m doing it. Twelve!

Also, how weird is it that I never read Kim’s blog before?

Many. Many weird.

So, hi Kim! I found this on your blog and I copied it.


You Are a Log Ride


You prefer to live a fairly calm, relaxed life… with a few surprises thrown in.You don’t tend to get yourself worked up easily. You can roll with what life throws at you.

In relationships, you are steady and solid. You maintain a pretty broad perspective on what’s going on.

That’s not to say you can’t get swept away. You’re emotions run as deep as anyone else’s.Your life seems like it has been remarkably easy so far. But that’s due to how you manage it.

You never stretch yourself too thinly, and you think out your decisions carefully.

Taking the time to enjoy each day is important to you, and you don’t let your emotions rule you.

You stay the course and do what’s right… knowing it will all work out in the end.

At your best, you are tolerant and understanding of other people’s quirks.

You take “go with the flow” to the extreme. Even if you don’t like where you’re going.

At your worst, you repress your feelings and end up being a little tightly wound.

You definitely have some explosive emotions that occasionally come to the surface!

 

Pretty much, yeah, that’s me.

Also, Kim’s got a contest going on where you pick your favorite hunk, and she’s got pictures of…

Hey, where’d everybody go?

Okay, time to go and spy on Kim and her plans for Spork world domination. I won’t be looking at the hunky pictures at all.

Well.

Maybe a little.

For research.

Ya’ll know.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Versus the Ennui of the Weekend

  1. hand eye crafts

    Perhaps my plans for spork domination INCLUDE my army of Knitters’ Hunks. . . Have you thought about that?

    Crap — just gave myself away!

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    Oh dear. Must revise Zombie Army plan immediately… Must train zombies not to bite Knitters’ Hunks. And once we are triumphant, I’ll keep the hunks all for myself! Bwahahahahahaha!

    Okay. I’ll share with ya’ll.

    A bit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

