Pollyanna Gets Creeped Out

Lyda here. I did take some breaks from the Olympics to watch some scary movies.

I saw “Jeepers Creepers” (2001) with Justin Long  – ya’ll know I like him, I’ve written about him before; he was in two of my favorite movies, “Galaxy Quest” (1999) and “Accepted” (2006), I should write about those movies… and of course he’s in “Live Free or Die Hard” (2007) which we loved, I could review that too…

But I digress…  

Gina Phillips costars as his sister – the girl can act, and, of course, scream.  They are traveling home from college on a lonely stretch of road – where horrors are waiting.

What I learned from this movie: Avoid scarecrows. They don’t all get their brains from the Wizard.

Not a zombie movie, but the bad guy is incredibly hard to keep dead.

Creepy, atmospheric, and a bit gory. A great cameo by Elaine Brennan. On the Pollyanna scale, I give this one 2 out of 5 Brains for horror movie fun, and a 3 out of 5 for gore and the creepy concept (some pretty icky stuff, but mostly it doesn’t last too long – at least in the televised version I saw).  Not one to seek out, but okay for a weekend afternoon.

Best quotes:

“Is he dead?”
“They never are.”

“You know the part in scary movies when somebody does something really stupid, and everybody hates them for it? This is it.”

Shouting at the characters not to do stupid things – that’s part of the fun of horror movies.

And then I saw “Jeepers Creepers II” (2003), again on TV. Set a few days after the original, it continues the reign of terror. This time, there’s a whole busload of teenagers in peril – football players and cheerleaders returning from a game, gee, has anyone ever done that before, yawn. Then again, I guess the chess club would be able to think their way out of danger…

My favorite parts of the sequel feature Ray Wise as a farmer determined to destroy the monster. And Justin Long does a cameo. In a dream, no less. Yes, one of the cheerleaders has a psychic dream. Shake your pom-poms at that, baby.

The sequel misses the humor of the original, and there are so many teenagers it’s hard to tell them apart. This one just goes for one scare after another. Not as much fun as the original, unless you have something against high school jocks and cheerleaders.

Which you may.

The Creeper certainly seems to…

Leave a Reply

