Pollyanna and the Hot Guys (and One Gal) of Longmont

Hi, Anna-Liza here. This post is taking me all kinds of time to put together. I keep clicking the wrong thing and deleting half my post, or getting weird formatting, and stuff. But here goes again. After all, I do owe you, our faithful readers, as much hotness as possible, n’est-ce pas?

So, how’s this for a hot guy?

The Hottest Guy in Longmont

The Hottest Guy in Longmont

Blurry, but definitely hot. But I did say “guys” plural, didn’t I? Alrighty then, there was Chase,

  (he’s the mystery hottie in the previous post).

And there was Casey, a break dancer with fire-feet:

And Stephiniti, the lone female in this show–that’s Darlin’ K lighting her fire there …

Zombie Son was there, too, but none of the pictures of him turned out at all. And seeing the caliber of photo I am willing to post here, you know that has to be bad.

The Longmont Festival on Main is basically a giant block party for the whole city. The official estimate of the crowd this year was 17,000 people! Main Street (aka State Highway 287) is blocked off from 3rd Avenue to 9th and all the booths and bouncy castles

and bubble towers (it spouts bubbles from the top, scads of them!)

and etc.

  

are set up where traffic usually flows. I like the fact that there are things for really little kids, like a gentle train ride and the big space with lots of sidewalk chalk and jumpropes, as well as more thrilling fare.

You know, I thought that sort of thing was forbidden under the Geneva convention, but the queue to be flung screaming into the air, repeatedly, was the longest one I saw. Oh, and all this stuff is free–no tickets, no tokens, no nuthin’. The city pays for all of it. Well, you have to pay for tschotchkes and food, like cotton candy

 

or these delicacies

 (I didn’t get close enough to see what they had, but the idea sort of fascinates me.)

There are buskers, too.

            Look, a pirate!

There’s also music. Some years there have been some fairly big names, but they usually go local. Hazel Miller was here a couple of years ago. This year saw Mojomama as the opening act and The Nacho Men were the headliners. It’s unlikely we’ll ever see, oh, Devotchka, but the music is generally very well done blues-R&B-rock danceable stuff. Not that I generally get to hang out and listen and dance much–I’m chasing kids or standing in line with them mostly, when I’m not at the fire show. This year, my in-laws came for the show and watched the kids so I could safety spot. (That means crouching as unobtrusively as possible with a very wet towel in my hands, watching for someone to catch on fire and not be able to put it out quickly on their own).

Saturday morning we had our neighborhood yard sale. I was putting stuff out in the yard when one of my neighbors rode by on her bike and shouted, “So you’re living with a celebrity now!” I intellegently replied “What?” and she told me that Darlin’ K was on the front page of the paper! And when I got my hands on a copy, sho’nuff, there he was! I think it’s pretty likely that he’ll get asked to do the fire show again next year. And next year, I expect to see you there!

4 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Hot Guys (and One Gal) of Longmont

  1. KarenM.

    HA, I was going to point that out too 🙂 but also that looks like total fun!! I LOVE bouncy things and revert to childhood upon chance encounters. Just one more way to embarrass the kiddos!
    Also, great pic in the paper…funny though, when I was younger, I used to work at Casa Bonita, and we had to juggle fire clubs…not a single good picture of a fire clubber, they always turn out weird I think the picture gets thrown as it is hard to focus through the fire….

    Reply
  2. Anna-Liza Post author

    Yeah, that’s why I phrased it that way–to appeal to the twelvehoodness. ANYWAy, Karen M. you’re right–the fire and also the fact that if you stop to pose for a picture, you get singed, so everyone is always in motion.
    Oh! And yes, this is a totally fun event with no deep meaning at all. That’s why I love it so much. That, and it’s within walking distance of my house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

