Pollyanna and the Jumping of Sharks

Lyda here. Sorry for the absence; my wrist is much better now.

Jumping the shark. Again. And showing my age. Also again.

I watched the original “Jaws” (1975) last night. I hadn’t seen it in a long time. Ya’ll know what? It totally holds up. The suspense is still there, and so are the scares. And my favorite scene – the three men on the boat singing of “Show me the way to go home” – is still awesome.

Of course, by today’s standards, the shark may look a bit… mechanical. But ya’ll know I love hokey special effects, so that’s not a problem for me. On the Pollyanna scary movie scale, I give this 3 out of 5 brains for good scares, and 2 out of 5 brains for gore.

Just in case you’ve forgotten the plot, here’s a 30-second version. With bunnies. Check it out, Angry Alien Productions have all kinds of movies! 30-second bunny version of Die Hard! That’s right:  Still all Bruce Willis, all the time.

Of course, Steven Spielberg was not the first to explode a shark. And I have proof! Ah, Batman. Is there anything you are unprepared for?

For some real shark jumping, check out this. Who knew white white sharks could jump like that? Who knew National Geographic posted on YouTube?

Well, now you do.

You’re welcome.

By the way – Baby warthogs! Now that’s pig-licking good. And that leopard agrees with me.

But I digress…

Over at The Great White Snark (heh), there’s a list of the top 5 geek shows that jumped the huge swimming predator.

And speaking of sharks, there’s this commercial.

And then I saw this:

song chart memes
more graph humor and song chart memes

So of course, I had to go find the original Saturday Night Live skit.

And yes. I saw it when it first aired. I told ya’ll I’m old.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Jumping of Sharks

  1. lyda Post author

    Oh, the Bass-O-Matic! Bwahahaha! I haven’t thought of that in years. That helped spawn a whole slew of bass-related jokes which Gorgeous and Available Engineer brother and I still tell each other.

    Uh-oh, I think I feel a SNL post coming on…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

