Pollyanna Tries to Not Hack up a Lung

Hey there, Anna-Liza here.

I’ve pretty much done nothing but sleep, cough, and blow my nose for the last four days. The little cold that Mr. B brought home wasn’t so bad for him or for Darlin’ K, but it hit Mr. R and me pretty hard. Mr. R was home sick Monday and Tuesday. I started feeling bad while I was at work on Monday, and have been home all week since then.

Usually, I take a bunch of supplements and they’ll shorten a cold and lessen its severity. A few times, when I’ve caught it early enough and been fanatical very vigilant about taking my “stuff” right on time, I’ve even been able to avoid it altogether. But this time, I’d been fighting symptoms for a couple of weeks, not quite getting enough sleep, and then dealing with extra stress on top of it. Monday, when Mr. R went down, I forgot to pack my supplements with me when I went to work. By the end of the day I was feeling truly lousy!

I figured I’d be fine with a day or two to rest, but it turned into bronchitis. I finally dragged my ass to the doctor today (I was sleeping so much that I didn’t realize that maybe this was more serious than a cold until last night!) He prescribed an inhaler for daytime and codeine cough syrup at night. Side effects–the inhaler makes me a little jittery, and the syrup makes me groggy. Which is sort of the point, I guess–it’s meant to help me get more sleep instead of waking up sounding like a two-pack-a-day smoker every couple of hours. Oh, I guess that’s another “side effect”-Darlin’ K will be able to get more sleep, too!

Knitting? Not so much. I’d gotten some done on the Monkey socks, but I had to rip most of that out and start over. First, I’d done one too many repeats of the lace pattern on the leg, and then I hadn’t decreased on the heel flap. Although, even if I had, I would have had to rip back past it to fix the repeat problem.

The original pattern doesn’t call for a heel flap decrease, but I have sort of narrow heels and find things fit better when I do that. I’d made the notes on the pattern showing how I’d done it on the first sock, and then I ignored my own notes! I’m so smart — and so detail oriented! But now I’ve ripped back, have the proper number of repeats on the leg, and the heel flap has the right number of stitches for my modifications. But I haven’t knit all the way back to where I was when I discovered the mistakes. Really, I’ve been so wiped out that even simple knitting has just seemed like too much effort. I even had to sit down to make myself a sandwich for lunch! *fade in violin music*

However, I think it’s safe now for me to disclose one bit of gift knitting that I’ve finished. My friend Amy, from work, just had a baby–a little boy. And I made her the Devil Baby Blanket from Crazy Aunt Purl’s Drunk, Divorced, & Covered in Cat Hair. It’s a darn cute blanket, but frankly I got bogged down in the endless stockinette part. If I’d been making this for myself (to do which I have NO OCCASION! None! Ahem) I would never have gotten it done. You know what I mean, you’ve read my whining about it many times already. I love the look of simple stockinette sweaters and things with fancy edgings or a single, subtle, possibly off-center cable … but actually knitting it makes my brain numb. (Hence the Monkey socks). It also turned out rather … huge. Definitely not newborn size. In fact … well, here’s a picture:

 My model is my dear friend Techieangel (that’s her Ravelry name). You may notice that the hood fits her head rather loosely, and that the tail falls below her knees. She’s nearly 6 feet tall, so you might say that it’s an ample blanket. Here’s another shot:

 You may have noticed that she’s pregnant. She’s not the one this blanket was knit for, but I do have a little more gift knitting I’ll be showing you after her shower on Sunday. Assuming I make it! I really hope I do–I’m sick of being sick!

Speaking of the Monkey socks, have you seen the Fall Knitty.com yet? There’s some fun stuff in it–an Op Art baby blanket that makes me think of old Bugs Bunny cartoons (more stockinette! But with cool stripes!), a really interesting pattern for a large scarf or small shawl, and … well, there’s this sock pattern. And I’m feeling a little … obsessed. The thing is, it’s rated “extra spicy”, which is more advanced than I’ve tried yet. I’ve found the knitty.com rating system to be pretty accurate, so I’m a little worried. It says this pattern ” … provides the experienced knitter with a challenge … ”

I rate myself as an “adventurous intermediate” knitter. Will I be able to knit these without a mental breakdown? If so, will I be able to wear them before I’m checked into an old age home? They’re just so cool–I especially love the little double cable down the sides that splits at the heel gussett … could I be getting in over my head?

Or could this merely be yet another way for me to avoid finishing my WIPs and UFOs?

Um, don’t answer that.

One thought on “Pollyanna Tries to Not Hack up a Lung

  1. lyda

    Oh, can’t I please answer? Please??

    Oh, okay, fine. Spoil my fun.

    Bronchitis sucks. Or does it blow? Wait, I remember – it both sucks and blows! Hope you are feeling a million times better by now. Sending virtual hot tea and child care…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

