Pollyanna Is (Almost) One Degree From Terry Pratchett

Hey there, fankids, Anna-Liza here.

Knitting Sprite, Darlin’ K and I went and listened to Neil Gaiman read from his new book, The Graveyard Book, on Tuesday night. If you don’t know (and how could you not?), a number of years ago he collaborated with Terry Pratchett on that brilliantly funny novel about the Apocalypse, Good Omens. So I didn’t actually meet him, but I was in the same (large) room with him while he read me (and several hundred other people) a story, so it almost counts, doesn’t it? As one degree from … ? Oh, come on. It’s not like I’ll ever get any closer!

He was freakin’ brilliant. He was funny, he was interesting, he didn’t take himself too seriously, and he was really excellent at reading his own work. None of those are things one can take for granted at an author appearance, but especially that last bit. He read half a chapter (it was a long chapter), and the entire audience was entirely caught up in the story. I had knitting with me, but I didn’t even remember it was there.

There’s a place on his website where you can watch video of his readings and, if you go through all of them, you’ll get the entire story. Look a little down the page on the left to where it says “The Graveyard Book Video Tour”. It’s really worth doing. And now I have to go buy the book. If we hadn’t needed to get home to rescue the babysitter, I would have done it then, but the line was too long.

Freakin’ brilliant. No joke. Truth is, I’m a Gaiman fangirl first–I found Terry Pratchett after reading Gaiman. So sue me.

6 thoughts on “Pollyanna Is (Almost) One Degree From Terry Pratchett

  1. Anna-Liza

    Oh, Marin, I should have thought of you! I tend to think of you as a Pratchett fan, so it didn’t occur to me you might drive to Boulder for a Gaiman reading. Nothing like a little one-dimensional thinking.

    I get the Boulder Bookstore e-newsletter, and that’s where I find out about this (and a lot of cool stuff).

    Red, you’re right, the library is one of the best inventions ever. I will probably check it out from there first before buying it, once I’ve calmed down a little.

    Reply
  2. Anna-Liza Post author

    Another reason for you to move here, isn’t it? All these cool authors I get to see with only an easy half hour drive? Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore, Brian Jacques …

    Bwahahahahaha …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

