Pollyanna Plays with Music and George and Memories

Lyda here. I was going to do another meme. I can just hear the Knights Who Say “Ni!” crying in glee: “A meme! A meme!”

This one from Paper Tiger Knits (warning – cute cat pics alert!) who did this meme here.

Music Meme
The rules:
A) Go to Music Outfitters
B) Enter the year you graduated from high school in the search function and get the list of 100 most popular songs of that year
C) Bold the songs you like, strike through the ones you hate and underline and/or italicize your favorite. Do nothing to the ones you don’t remember (or don’t care about).

Now let’s see… what year did I graduate…? “Where did I put the petitions, man?… What were we talking about…? Oh yeah, the petitions, man.” (George Carlin explaining why marijuana hasn’t been legalized.)

And then I looked at the Top 100 Hits of 1978.

The horror. The horror!!

I just can’t do the meme. So. Much. Disco. Bleeding from ears…  The Rolling Stones don’t hit the list until #16, and  that is Just. So. Wrong. But what can we expect from a year when “Short People” by Randy Newman made the top 50?

And yet, I’m ashamed to admit, I probably know all the words to all of those disco songs. Oh deary deary me.

The song from that list that I associate most with my senior year is “We Are The Champions/We Will Rock You” by Queen. A very good friend of mine – the first guy who ever asked me on a date, the first guy I ever dated, the first guy I ever kissed (I kissed so badly the first time that he actually said “That wasn’t much of a kiss”, scarring me for life), the guy with whom I later had the Best Kiss Of My Life, the first guy to break up with me (although not the first guy to break my heart – that’s a whole other Oprah, as one of my girlfriends would say) –

But I digress…

Anyway. That guy.

Among many other assets, that guy had a car. And a cassette player in the car. Yes, children this was in the dark days before CDs. I know, scary. And yet we made it out alive. But I digress again… And cassettes of all the Queen albums. And we sang them at the top of our lungs. Especially that album.

I wonder where he is now and what he’s doing…

So, instead of the meme, I give you a seasonal joke (purportedly from George Carlin):

“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Plays with Music and George and Memories

  1. Pingback: Pollyanna Takes “Self Referential” to a New Level « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

