Pollyanna Is a Warped Girlie

Hey there, Anna-Liza here. I often joke that I’m bicraftual, but in fact I am multi-craftual. I knit, I can crochet (although not as well as I knit), and I sew as well. Actually, it’s been years since I’ve done more than sew on a button or seam a sweater, but I have been known to make fancy Easter dresses and Halloween costumes in my day. Someday, if I ever have a place to set up my sewing machine, I might even do it again … maybe! I also needlefelt, can make papier-maché dragons, and can do a lot with cardboard, glue, and bits and bobs.

But now I’m taking on a whole new craft. (Brace yourself). I’m learning to weave. On a loom and everything. My teacher is Liz Gipson, author of Weaving Made Easy, and it’s a workshop style class. We met up with her at lunchtime  once a week for two weeks. The first week, she taught us the direct-warp method on a rigid heddle loom, and the next week how to weave once we had the loom warped. Now we’ve brought home our borrowed looms to practice what she showed us.

I’ve warped the loom, woven the header, and started the main bit of weaving. Mr. R was very anxious to learn, too, and he’s actually done most of the actual weaving so far. He was awfully helpful with the warping.

ar-warping-2

If you don’t know what the direct-warp method is, it means measuring the warp and actually warping the loom in one step. It only works on rigid heddle looms, and I have not yet learned the other warping method, so I can’t ‘splain the differences. Except that with the other warping method, you measure the warp on a warping board and then transfer it to the loom.

ar-warping-4

Mr. B got into the act, too:

ar-warping-b-under-table

I’m all for saving time and doing two things in one step, but it does mean you have to have a long enough space to measure out the full warp in one go. Thusly:

whole-warp

That’s a 131 inch warp, there. Almost the length of my living room. The other thing is that you have to have the loom very well clamped down, and a warping peg also very stable, which can be problematic at times. The loom I borrowed doesn’t have any place to really set a clamp well. Darlin’ K, engineering marvel that he is, came up with the bungee cord solution, which Sparkle Kitty (and Hello Kitty) apparently approved.

k-sparkle-loom

Here are a few more pics of the warping process.

ready-to-tie-the-warp

Ready to tie the warp.

tied-end-of-warp-2

The tied end of the warp.

Disclaimer: This is not a tutorial! I’m not good enough yet! Next time I blog about this, it will be about the actual weaving part.

Leave a Reply

