Pollyanna and the Sucky, Sad Moments

Hey, Anna-Liza here. I know it’s late, but I can’t sleep. I’m really upset. Some … person … stole my five year old’s tricycle. We don’t know for sure when, but when he wanted to ride it to the doughnut store this morning, it was just gone.

Think about this. What kind of … person … would steal a tricycle? Granted, it was a really nice one. Five years ago or so, when we actually had a little discretionary income, I spent a little more than we could really afford on a really good Kettler trike, one that would last through two boys and come out still working on the other side. It was doing an admirable job, too.

Poor Mr. B. He loved that trike. He rode it all over the neighborhood. If we went to the park, to the library, to the aforementioned doughnut store, he wanted to ride his trike. And now someone just walked off with it. You know what? Having something like that happen sucks at any time, but having it happen at age five is a lot worse than that. The poor kid just doesn’t know what to think.

What sucks for me is that, not only did someone steal something he really loved and used all the time, but now, with our finances as dire as they are, I can’t even get him another one. Not even a used one. And that’s the thing that’s upsetting me even more than the idea that some … person … out there apparently sees nothing wrong in stealing a little kid’s trike. Any mom out there will know exactly how much it hurts not to be able to do anything to make it all better.

7 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Sucky, Sad Moments

  1. Morwynne

    *heartbreak* If you see it sitting in anyone else’s yard, let me know. I haven’t gotten to exercise my overprotective older sister rights enough with those two.

    Reply
  2. Anna-Liza Post author

    Thanks, y’all. I just needed to get that off my chest–I couldn’t sleep! Morwynne, I haven’t seen it, but then it’s been blizzarding. But we can do something about those overprotective older sister rights, I’m sure.

    Amy! Thanks! You’re a real sweetheart–yes it would help! And you even found my work email, you’re awesome!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pollyanna gets Batty « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  4. Pingback: Mr. Pollyanna Is Reminded to Tie His Camel « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

