Pollyanna Ponders Her Next Move

Lyda here. Have any of you moved a cat across state lines? A 14-year-old cat? A cat who gets motion sickness on the drive to the vet?

Why am I thinking about moving?

Money.

My job – as wonderful as the people are to work with – does not pay enough for me to survive here, let alone thrive.

So I have some options:

  1. move to Texas
  2. move to Ohio
  3. move to Seattle
  4. get a higher paying job here
  5. get a second job here
  6. win the lottery
  7. move to Colorado

Option #1 – GAAE brother has offered me a house in Corpus Christi. Rent would be more than a thousand dollars cheaper a month. Other expenses would be cheaper too. For one thing, Texas does not have a state income tax. And the Texas economy is doing okay. GAAE brother has a vast network of friends there, which would help with the job hunt and such. I’d have a house I could live in for as long as I want. With hardwood floors. And a big yard. I could have a garden. I could have a dog (if I put up a fence). Yes, I know. Cockroaches. Hurricanes. Heat. Been there, lived through all that. Might have to do it again.

Option #2 – GAAE brother is in Ohio right now, and will be for another year, finishing his PhD, working, and looking for a teaching position.  He wants to go back to Texas but will go where the job takes him. This is Colorado’s big chance to get him and me to move there. I’d stay with him and then probably move with him when the time comes. Problem with this – I hate cold weather, and Ohio has a lot of it.

Option #3 – I think Younger Brother would like me to move to Seattle, but he’d like it more if I brought my son with me. We could stay with bro for a short time but would have to be independent pretty damn fast.

Option #4 – A higher paying job here would rock, but there just don’t seem to be any out there. I could look harder.

Option #5 – A second job is a possibility, but 40 hours a week at a desk job is already quite a challenge.

Option #6 – Oh yes! This would solve all my troubles, right?

Yeah.

Moving on…

Option #7 – Unfortunately, I don’t think this is going to happen this time. Colorado is expensive and cold.

So, once again, the prospect of moving to Texas looms before me.

Unless I get diverted to Colorado by the big Campaign.

What I’m not sure of, is whether the Sith Master would come with me or not. I hope so. But it’s up to him. The Zombie Army will of course be coming with me. Don’t worry; y’all will get plenty of warning so you can get the livestock inside.

At least I know that no matter what, there will be cake. And zombies.

And you all cheering me on.

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna Ponders Her Next Move

  1. Marin

    NOT expensive.

    NOT cold.

    I don’t know where you’re getting your Colorado fun facts, but I have to tell you it’s only cold every so tiny bitty often. And you can get expensive if you want, but there are many fine economical options.

    Plus? MOUNTAINS. Real ones.

    Just sayin’.

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    Don’t y’all get that white stuff regularly… what’s it called? Oh yeah – snow. I don’t even own a coat.

    The mountains are a definite plus. That’s what he said.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

