Pollyanna Colors Her World

Lyda here.

In my ongoing effort to keep the local library afloat on my late fees alone, I recently finished “Color: A Natural History of the Palette” by Victoria Finlay.

Interesting subject, excellent writing, and some really weird stories make for a great read. I found it fascinating. I’m not up for writing a whole review on it today, so here are some reviews on “Curled Up with a Good Book” and “Face of Chaos“.

Now I want to read Findlay’s book about jewels, too. I’m not big on jewelry, but I do love stones and jewels. And Findlay is an excellent writer.

This book on color has been on my “someday I’ll read that” list for a while. I’m trying to actually read those “someday” books now. For example…

I just started “Lady Chatterley’s Lover” by D.H. Lawrence, which will complete #11 – Read a banned or challenged book – of the Reading in Wonderland Challenge. I’ve never read this book before, although I read some D.H. Lawrence in school.

And no, I haven’t really gotten to the dirty bits yet. I’ll report back once I have.

Once I finish it, I’ll only have one more book to go to finish R.I.W. I need a book for challenge #7 – Read a classic book you’ve never read and always meant to. Of course, “Lady Chatterley’s Lover” could count for this one too, as it is definitely a classic I’ve always meant to read.

But since I created thirteen challenges, I want to read and report on 13 books. So I want to read another classic book I’ve always meant to read.

Suggestions are welcome. What are some of your favorite classic books? What should I read that I’ve missed?

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna Colors Her World

  1. Marin

    LOVED the Color book. It’s the kind of non-fiction that makes life worthwhile, as far as I’m concerned.

    Classics? If you haven’t read Lolita, I… well, I have a hard time recommending it since I’m apparently the only one in our book club who recognised how stunningly beautiful the writing is. Everybody got really stuck in an, “I’m a mother, I couldn’t even stomach it, you wouldn’t understand” zone.

    Frankly, I didn’t think the statutory rape angle was that repugnant, but then… I don’t have kids. I wouldn’t understand.

    Vanity Fair is fun if you haven’t read it and can’t bear the thought of Lolita.

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    Marin – I feel the same about this kind of non-fiction.

    Haven’t read either Vanity Fair or Lolita. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Reply
  3. Anna-Liza

    I second the Vanity Fair rec. For you, I wouldn’t recommend Lolita so much. It doesn’t start out as statutory rape, for one, and I think you’d find it disturbing. But yes, the writing is beautiful … and it’s also very difficult for a mother to get past the story.

    All the other classics I can think of that I’ve really enjoyed are ones I think you’ve already read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

