Pollyanna Leaves a Lover

Okay, it wasn’t MY lover, it was Lady Chatterley’s. I didn’t want to leave, but I finished the book.

Lyda here. I came home Thursday night to find the living room full of young men battling aliens and zombies, so I retreated to my bedroom with Lady Chatterley’s Lover. It seems fitting that I finished it in bed.

How did I like the book? Well. There were long stretches of dialogue with the characters were going on about industry and the life of the intellect versus the life of the body. There were lengthy descriptions of the mining industry as well. It probably didn’t help that I read much of the book during my lunch breaks, which broke up the flow a bit.

But I did like the book. I sympathized with Lady Chatterley and with her lover. I enjoyed the parts of the book when they were together. The passage of their lovemaking are beautiful and confusing and tender and fierce. And of course, the writing is fantastic, as D.H. Lawrence‘s always is. No wonder the book is a classic.

The language is sometimes very rough, including some words that many would be shocked to read even today. The relationship would still shock some people too. And the whole premise – that a woman can and does find so much pleasure in sex – must have been news to a lot of men at the time. And possibly still is.

Which of course is why this book caused so much controversy, and was widely banned, and there was a huge trial in England over its “obscenity”, and all that craziness.

I read this book for Pollyanna’s Reading In Wonderland Challenge #11:

“After a fall such as this, I shall think nothing of tumbling downstairs!”: Read a banned or challenged book.

I am glad I did.

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Leaves a Lover

  1. Jane

    Hey! I’m glad to see that you haven’t removed me from your blog roll. I’m hoping to be able to get back to blogging soon. I have taken FMLA to be with my mother during her final days of cancer. Stay pretty busy. But know that I am reading !!

    Reply
  2. lyda Post author

    JANE!!! I’m so excited you are still reading. I’m sorry to hear about your mother. I’m sure it is a great comfort to her to have you there with her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

