When the Cat’s Away, Pollyanna Will Play

Hey, Anna-Liza here. I believe I mentioned having the kidlets and Darlin’ K all away for a few days. And that I couldn’t make up my mind what to do?

Well, here’s what I did.

  1. Read one Rex Stout (Nero Wolfe/Archie Goodwin) book after another, like a four-year-old with a pumpkin full of Halloween candy.
  2. Took a ridiculous amount of time trying to decide what to wear for my photo shoot on Wednesday. This was a half-hour only, and I needed to bring two outfits, folks. Still took me hours to decide.
  3. Read every blog I have bookmarked at least once (and I’ve been finding and marking blogs for a few years now). Caught up on a couple I really love and had neglected due to chronic busyness.
  4. Made chili and my famous summer chicken salad. Ate almost all the chicken salad, froze half the chili. It’s finally getting warm enough for iced tea!
  5. Slept badly. It’s a normal side effect when Darlin’ K isn’t here. Yeah, I know, that’s cute. I’m not especially cute after a night like that, though. Not always a big problem except for those who have to look at me or talk to me, but see item 2.
  6. Drove my father-in-law’s big-ass SUV, praying gently all the while that nothing will happen to this car. Please.
  7. Got used to Started getting used to the idea of being a grandmother. And of Darlin’ K being a grandfather!
  8. Missed Knit Night, as that was the same night the kidlets came home. Bad week to miss it, what with the whole becoming-a-grandmother thing to talk about.
  9. Looked at lots of knitting patterns and examined my stash for appropriate yarns. Baby patterns, yes, and also I have some knitting to do for my Rolfer.

Some of the things I didn’t do, but thought about:

  1. Watch any movies whatsoever. I decided I liked quiet better than TV noise, even if it was TV noise I chose myself.
  2. Clean. Anything.
  3. Go through all my clothes and get rid of stuff. Although I will do this soon, I decided it isn’t anything that can’t be done when the kids are home.
  4. Go through all the kids’ clothes and get rid of stuff. Ditto.
  5. Eat fast food. Although I did have some leftover Chinese takeout.
  6. Meditate any more often or any longer than normal. Bad hippie chick.
  7. Knit more than usual, which I admit is strange. But it’s hard to put down Nero Wolfe, especially when Archie’s in top form.
  8. Practice spinning, even though I have all this lovely new fiber. Plus some lovely old fiber!
One thought on “When the Cat’s Away, Pollyanna Will Play

  1. lyda

    I’m so glad you did NOT clean. (Yes, this really is me saying that.) You deserved the time alone WITHOUT chores.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

