Pollyanna and the Tiny Zombies of Literary Doom

Lyda here, as if y’all couldn’t figure that out.

Anna-Liza just sent me links to some ThinkGeek products that I just have to share.

She really needs the Self-Rescuing Princess shirt

while this Newbie Geek onesie is perfect to have in waiting for her grandchild on the way.

This 8-bit Dynamic Life t-shirt is not a suitable candidate for Black Valentine’s Day – unless you only have one shirt.

But of course the one that I love is: INVASION OF THE TINY PLUSH ZOMBIES!! Be sure to watch the video at the bottom of that page. Do they have the best jobs ever, or what?

And in related news…

The LA Times reports on the zombification of Jane Austen. Did they turn the gifted writer into a zombie? No, but someone did add zombies to one of her classics, creating a book called “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies“. Also out: “Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters” – check out the Noodly Appendages on the cover, all praise to FSM. And yet, somehow, Mr. Darcy has become a vampire… or is that vampyre?

Jane is not the only author going zombie. H.G. Wells has been mutated too. And Mark Twain has gone the way of the undead as well.

I include the links, not to endorse the books – I haven’t read any of these – but as proof that real life is weirder than even my imagination.

So, while I was wandering around the zombie book section in that huge virtual bookstore, I found these, which owe their titles at least to some classics: “Love in the Time of Zombies” and “Fried Green Zombies“.

And lastly, I must report some Christopher Moore books which I’ve missed until now: “Fool: A Novel“, “A Dirty Job” and “You Suck: A Love Story(a sequel to “Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story” that begins just after the first book ends).

How could I have missed THREE of his books???

I blame the zombies. A zombie is always a great fall guy. What is he going to do about it, moan?

But I digress.

I see a trip to the library in my immediate future.

I just hope the zombies haven’t eaten the librarians’ brains. I don’t think the undead can use the Dewey Decimal System.

3 thoughts on “Pollyanna and the Tiny Zombies of Literary Doom

  1. John Allen

    Hey – thanks for the mention! (Fried Green Zombies). If you like Christopher Moore, I think you’ll like FGZ. Me, personally – I have everything Mr. Moore has written. And if you like him, you’ll like Carl Hiaasen as well. But I digress.

    If you can’t tell, I love everything zombie as well, but I like dark comedy, which is one reason Mr. Moore is one of my favorite authors.

    Reply
  2. lahni

    Yeah, if you like a reboot of sorts of classic literature, you will LOVE fool! And, I highly recommend Fried Green Zombies too. Not too much on the gore/scare. More fun and adventure. An easy fast-paced read. But then again, my husband wrote it! lol. I found your blog totally randomly, btw. Love it! I want to learn to knit so badly. Any suggestions on where/how to start? *and, Moore has a new book now too! I believe it is the third one in his vampire series!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

