Pollyanna Plays with Farm Animals

Lyda here.

On a hot Sunday in July, I went to the Orange County Fair. On my own. Despite the heat. Do I get my medal now?  I had a great time, and I took so many pictures that I will have to dole them out in several posts.

First up:  A few of the farm denizens

 “You’re an animal, baby, yeah!

Apparently I only thought he said that in the movie. If he didn’t say it during a photo shoot, he should have.  But I digress…

 Oh behave!

This is what greeted me as I entered the barnyard:

It's the Entrance Duck!

Here she comes - Duck!

 

 

 

 

 

Basic black and white

Basic black and white never looked better

 

 

 

 

 

 

There were anatomy lessons for one and all:

How do you tell a female pig...

How do you tell a female pig...

 

 

 

 

 

from a male pig?

from a male pig?

 

 

 

 

 

There were baby chicks – hi Marin! – in an incubator, even though it was hot enough to fry eggs…

Oh.

Sorry, guys.

Chickies inna baskit

Chickies inna baskit

 

 

 

 

 

Gotta watch out for that Swedish chef, chicks

There were almost-newborn piglets. There was quite a crowd, so I didn’t get a great picture.

Hog heaven

A little hog heaven

 

 

 

 

 

The sow was grunting while the piglets were eating. It was a weird noise. Was she happy? Was she annoyed? She might have been talking to the sow in the next pen. Or complaining about the humans.

 There were Watusi cattle who were not bothered at all by the heat, of course:

Wah-wah-a-wah-tusi!

Wah-wah-a-wah-tusi!

 

 

 

 

 

That’s a lot of bull.

And there were, of course, fiber animals.

The bunnies were pretty miserable in the heat.

Just one of the many hot buns

Just one of many hot buns

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 .
.
The sheep were either used to it or too hot to complain.
Let me out of here! I was framed!

Let me out of here! I was framed!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
I don’t know if it was the heat that was getting to this guy, or what…
Dude, what was in that last marguerita?!

Dude, what was in that last marguerita?!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A goat and a sheep walked into a bar…
 
I don’t want to start any rumors, but these two seemed  more than just friends.
The love that dare not speak its name

The love that dare not speak its name

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
And of course:
One llama

One llama

Two llamas

Two llamas

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Next time:  Fair Fiber  (You know you want it.)
 
And coming soon to a blog near you:  Fair to Middlin’ Food, and Fierce Competition of the Table Setting Kind
4 thoughts on “Pollyanna Plays with Farm Animals

  1. Pingback: Pollyanna Meets Fiber at the Fair « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

  2. Pingback: Pollyanna Gets Fairly Obscene « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

