Pollyanna Meets Fiber at the Fair

So, I was telling y’all about my visit to the county fair.

Of course, there was fiber.

Spinning at the Fair

Spinning at the Fair

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This woman was spinning fiber into yarn with her hands. She asked a kid what he thought she was making, and he said “a cat toy.” True, right?  He was fascinated, definitely a fiber-a-holic in the making.

Of course I noticed the table of different fibers. Still a knit blog. Alpaca, silk, cotton, different kinds of wool… And a sign saying you could touch them all.

To touch, perchance to buy...

To touch, perchance to buy...

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Happiness is a soft fiber. The table included examples of dog and cat hair spun into yarn. The labels made me smile – they specified “Alsatian” or “Persian” or whatever.

Because I need to know the breed. In case I want to start my own four-legged fiber sweatshop. Or would that be “pant shop”? But I digress…

Just to review:

Alpaca on the hoof...

Alpaca on the hoof...

 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Alpaca to spin...

Alpaca to spin...

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Important not to get the two confused.

 

I explored Crafter’s Row, but most of the things seemed a bit… mass-produced. Probably just as well, as I wasn’t tempted to pull out my wallet.

I wandered through the Hall of Products, and drooled over the embroidery sewing machines. Oh, the zombies I could make…  And seriously hankered for the quilting machine. Sigh.

I visited the arts & crafts building. It was air conditioned, which was awesome. So was the fine arts building, which I explored as well, but I couldn’t take pictures there.

Beautiful quilts. I thought I took pictures of some of them, but apparently not.

The pictures of the knitting also didn’t come out, but it was wonderful, including the most perfect and the tiniest set of baby booties I’ve ever seen, which had won a blue ribbon.

But I did get a picture of the crocheted wedding cake, with some other fiber examples (I think crochet as well?) in the picture too.

Plenty of fiber in this wedding cake

Plenty of fiber in this wedding cake

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

A bit different than the Muppet’s Swedish chef’s cake, yes?

Next in the Continuing Adventures of Pollyanna at the Fair:  obscene vegetables and X-rated table settings.

Srsly.

One thought on “Pollyanna Meets Fiber at the Fair

  1. Pingback: Pollyanna says, Gorgeous is more than skin deep « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

