Pollyanna Gets Fairly Obscene

Lyda here. This is the third installment of my adventures at the Orange County Fair. If y’all are interested, here’s part one – fair animals and part two – fair fiber. Yes, I went to the fair in August, and it’s now the end of October. Let’s just say this whole post is a diversion from my fall. And I’m not talking about the season.

I only took two pictures of the quilting, both of the same of the award-winning quilt:

Blue ribbon quilt

Blue ribbon quilt

.

.

.

.

.

This was a beautiful baby quilt. I even took a close up:

detail of blue ribbon quilt

detail of blue ribbon quilt

.

.

.

.

.

I love the colors, the design, and the lavish quilting in golden thread. It was perfectly executed. Something to aspire to.

But I promised obscenity, and I’ll get there, y’all. Heading into the produce section, I saw that the fair has a huge… floral clock.

Time to flower...

Time to flower.

.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Not as special as the clock in Quirm, but it did keep time. There were plenty of other plants as well. Including some weird vegetables.
.
.
Like these mutants:
Yes, that is just one carrot on that plate...

Yes, that is just one carrot on that plate...

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
And this terrifying plant:
Broccoli-Spinach

Broccoli-Spinach

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Now, that will REALLY scare the kids this Halloween.
.
.
But this is what y’all are waiting for:
The mind boggles...

The mind boggles...

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Gets Fairly Obscene

Leave a Reply

