Pollyanna and the Wee Beasties of Chaos

Lyda here.

I am surrounded by cuteness.

A month or two ago, we adopted two kittens from one of my coworkers (they were free – she had even taken them for their shots). They are adorable and playful and energetic, and they make us laugh. We both need to laugh more. And they cuddle with me at night and that helps me sleep. I hesitated a lot before taking on the additional responsibility, but I think it was the right decision. I am battling the Dread Demon Depression (now as always) and it was horribly bad after Tommy’s death and I wasn’t sleeping at all. The kittens help.

Of course I still miss Tommy, and Jason too. How strange it would be not to miss them. I lived with them for so long, fourteen or fifteen years. Much longer than my marriage.

Which I don’t miss at all.

But I digress…

And the kittens are company for me when I’m alone, and that is more frequent now, what with the Resident Sith Master being an adult now and attending college and all. This fall he’s a full time student at the community college near our place – have I mentioned that? He’s taking Economics and Political Science and a history class that is called “Current Issues” and… another class I can never remember. Have I mentioned that I seem to be losing my memory?

Have I mentioned that I digress a lot?

So, we now have two short-haired gray tiger striped demons kittens. The slightly larger, slightly grayer cat we named Cato* because he attacks everything all the time and without warning.

Cato

Cato in an uncharacteristically mellow mood

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

We named the slightly smaller, sweet-faced cat with darker stripes Mace Window*, because he likes to hang out on the window sills between the glass and the blinds. Although RSM was saying the other day that his name should be Juggernaut.

Mace

Mace pretending he is not evil

.

.

.

.

.

.


They certainly create chaos, but it is mostly really funny. Every few hours Mace discovers his tail and does Olympic-level gymnastic flips chasing it. Every few hours. If I had a video camera, we would absolutely win on America’s Funniest Home Videos.

Mace is crazy. Not just chase-your-tail-for-hours crazy, but OCD-evil crazy. Mace will not be turned. Once he gets an idea in his tiny kitty brain, he will continue to try it out. Like attacking the blinds. He pulled one set of blinds down off the window finally.

Mace climbs the screens without mercy, and has taught his brother to try too – definitely not funny as the window screens are old and poorly fitted (so we could lose kittens to the Evil Outdoors) and the screen doors are brand new – so we need to keep them nice for the landlady – and… poorly fitted.

Have I mentioned that my apartment is full of poorly fitting items? It seems to be the major leitmotif. But I digress.

Mace actually found himself outside on one Monday, when my bedroom screen fell out and so did he. At the time, I didn’t even know they could reach my bedroom’s high windowsill. Luckily I hadn’t left for work yet – another 5 minutes and that darn cat would have been outside until RSM woke up and noticed he was gone.

He learned nothing from this experience.

Needless to say, we keep all the windows closed now.

Cato and Mace

Their favorite place to hang out

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Like Marge, Cato keeps himself in a state of cat-like readiness – the first week or so he twitched almost all the time. He is mellowing a bit now.

But it is a certainty to him that his brother must die. He continues to attack without mercy.

Lucky for all concerned, kittens are easily distracted.

You might even say, they digress.

* I linked to the relevant movies, and here is more info. Cato is the namesake of the character played by Burt Kwouk in the Pink Panther movies (in this clip, Cato is hiding in the freezer). Mace is named after this Jedi character from Star Wars.

Yet I am trusting that most of y’all will understand both references without the links. Only one person at work got it – she’s the only one who has seen both sets of movies, and we even discussed the color of Samuel L. Jackson’s light saber. Oh yes we did.

One other person at work got the Peter Sellers reference (but not the Star Wars one). The rest of them were clueless.

I weep for the lack of culture in my work place.

But I digress again.

One thought on “Pollyanna and the Wee Beasties of Chaos

Leave a Reply

