Pollyanna procrastinates on her procrastinating

Lyda here. I thought I posted this last week! I’ve updated it…

The Resident Sith Master was working on Saturday afternoon (he babysits and is great at it). And he had not gone through his closet yet. And I had not gone through the kitchen, or the hall closet.

I ran outta gas! I had a flat tire! I didn’t have enough money for cab fare! My tux didn’t come back from the cleaners! An old friend came in from outta town! Someone stole my car! There was an earthquake! A terrible flood! Locusts!! It wasn’t my fault I swear to God!!!”. – John Belushi as “Joliet” Jake Blues to Carrie Fisher as his left-at-the-altar fiancee, The Blues Brothers movie.

“But I digress.” – Lyda

So the garage sale was postponed until this weekend. Or next weekend, absolute latest. We spent last weekend (the part when he wasn’t babysitting) going through RSM’s closet, the kitchen, and part of the hall closet. Then we went out to the patio and sorted it out – tossed a lot, put some aside for the sale, took in a few things that I want to keep. Dismantling the patio was draining, partly because we’d done so much already, and partly because it was hard to let it go. It was my garden sanctuary and I treasured it.

At least it is done. And a friend might buy my table and chairs, so that’s good news.

I still haven’t dealt with the masses of paper in the four-drawer filing cabinet. I don’t know if I’m keeping the filing cabinet or not – it’s tall and made of real wood, so it might bring some money. But I find it really useful to have everything neatly organized in one place. Y’all know me and organizing. It depends on if I find an apartment to rent – if not, I’ll be living in just a bedroom and I’ll need to get rid of most of the furniture.

I have a “maybe” shelf for items I haven’t decided on yet. That way, I don’t get bogged down by one item. If I really really can’t decide, I put it on the “maybe” shelf where I’ll see it a lot and can ponder its fate. So far, 90% of the things I’ve taken off the maybe shelf have gone into the sale pile in the garage.

I say “pile” but it is more like a small mountain. There is still room to squeeze by to the washer and dryer, but only barely. Anything that doesn’t sell will be donated.

I still haven’t found an apartment or other situation where I can take the cats with me. I still haven’t found the cats a new home. A family member called this weekend, and I was telling him that I am worried about the cats. He said he thought I have more important things to deal with than the cats.

I disagree.

My son will go live with his dad, where he will be safe and comfortable and loved. That was of course my first priority, and logistically the easiest for me to arrange. Emotionally is another matter. But that’s a whole ‘nother Oprah.

I have a place to live, if I don’t find an apartment in the next two weeks or so. I will be safe and comfortable there, and will be living with friends who love me. That was my second priority.

My next priority is the cats. I am responsible for them. When I adopted them, I made a promise to care for them. If I am no longer able to do that, it is my responsibility to find a new home for them, where they will be safe and comfortable and loved.

Frankly, I was shocked that this person would say it isn’t important. And hurt – does he think I’m not working on and thinking about all the other shit I have to fix in my life??

I’m super sensitive – my grandmother would say “tender” – right now, and everything hurts. I’ll get over that part. I’m not even going to send my Zombie Army after him.

Yet.

But I’m digressing again.

And still procrastinating, I see.

Is she putting off packing again? I can't look.




2 thoughts on “Pollyanna procrastinates on her procrastinating

  1. lyda Post author

    I put responding to your comment on my list. I’m sure I’ll get it done soon. Probably tomorrow. Next week for sure…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

