Pollyanna versus the Newly Empty Nest

Lyda here.

The Resident Sith Master moved out today.

That’s right. This Sith Master is Resident no more. Yes, a Monty Python reference. What did you expect? But I digress…

Early this morning his dad came over, and they started loading things up. Putting the bed on top of the car was a big clue.

But I knew it was really happening when my son packed up his video games.

I left before they did, so I wouldn’t blubber all over him, and in front of my ex.

It’s been coming for two months. He’d already packed up his stuff. And they spent time last week painting his room at his dad’s house and got him a new desk from Ikea and generally prepared the space for full-time occupancy, instead of the occasional weekend.

And we have to be out of our apartment at the end of this week.

So I knew it was going to happen.

But I cried all the way to work.

Yes, he’s going to be fine – he’ll be safe and loved and happy, he’ll spend guy time with his dad, he’ll be with his dogs.

The crying is not about that.

Today it’s about me.

And how much I already miss him.

….

Excuse me, I need a Monty Python-meets-Star Trek clip.

Ah. Brought a wan smile to my lips.

Perhaps y’all can suggest some others that will sustain me in the packing-moving-and-missing-my-son days to come.

T-minus 3 days to my move and counting…

One thought on “Pollyanna versus the Newly Empty Nest

Leave a Reply

