Hi, I’m Pollyanna, and I’m a Sock Addict

Okay, you probably know who this is. So soon after Lyda’s confessional post, I feel I have to come clean as well. I came to the realization today that I’m not just fond of knitting socks, I’m actually addicted. (As just possibly Knitting Sprite may be starting an addiction to baby hats – but it’s not for me to out another knitter).

Knitting Sprite & me at the Yarn Harlot's gig in 2007. Note the incipient sock.

This epiphany came when I saw this pattern on knitty.com. It’s not that it’s especially beautiful, but it’s elegant and the design is … it’s fuckin’ brilliant, is what it is. The absolute lust that reading the pattern aroused in me was so surprising, yet so familiar. I had to have the pattern! And I do – I have it right now, waiting for me to pick just the right sock yarn (I have PA-LENTY stashed) and find my size 0 DPNs. More accurately, find a set of size 0 DPNs which don’t already have a sock on them.

I need to darn one of these.

You know what? I have a total of two pair of functional handknit socks in my drawer, two pair that need mending, and a single Monkey whose mate was tragically lost in a travel incident. It’s not too surprising that I don’t actually have that many, especially considering the speed at which I get things done. “Speed” would not, in fact, be a particularly accurate term – perhaps it’s more the “slow” at which I get things done.

I'll even make socks for my kids.

But I have lots of socks on the needles. There’s a pair I am making for a massage therapist friend of mine as partial trade for the really fabulous massage she gave me a while ago. For myself, there are … let’s see … the toe-ups, the chevrons, the Pomatomus … um. I was going to give a tally, but I think I don’t actually know how many unfinished socks I’ve got.

One of these is lost in Wyoming.

And then there are the socks that I haven’t started but I want to start, even though I’ve got so many sock-WIPs and sock-UFOs already. Just online, there’s Skew, of course, which I showed you earlier; and there’s Hedera, Bacchus, Salto (dig them crazy cables, man!), River Rapids, the Sandalwood Socks

And of course, there’s Absinthe.

If that’s not addiction, what would you call it?

One thought on “Hi, I’m Pollyanna, and I’m a Sock Addict

  1. Pingback: Pollyanna Catches (Knitting) Olympic Fever « Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Leave a Reply

