Pollyanna Catches (Knitting) Olympic Fever

Anna-Liza here. I’m actually doing it. I’m in the Knitting Olympics, doing two pair of socks. I know, I know, it’s not exactly Yarn Harlot-worthy project, but I’ve never finished even one pair in seventeen days. Addict or not, I’m a slow sock knitter.

I’m not completely insane (am I? Don’t answer that) – they’ll be worsted weight. Considering my available knitting time and my huge issues with Second-Sock Syndrome (SSS), I think that’s the only sane thing to do. I don’t want to reduce myself to sitting in the corner with my yarn and needles, unshowered and bleary-eyed, snarling wordlessly at attempts by my family to feed me or shoot me with tranquilizer darts.

Why am I doing this? Um, my original thought was that the deadline might cure me of SSS, at least temporarily. But maybe I’m just a knitting sheeple. But you know, one of the things I love about the intersection of handcrafting and the internet is the chance to participate in stuff with people who have something in common with me, but whom I will never actually meet IRL. At the time of this writing, there are 3918 of us 2010 Knitting Olympians.

I am Knitter, hear me baaaaaaa ….

2 thoughts on “Pollyanna Catches (Knitting) Olympic Fever

  1. lyda

    Woo-hoo!! I should be knitting in support, perhaps a scarf in the Pollyanna team colors… which would be… uh… rainbow?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

