Oooooooohhhh, That’s Gotta Hurt, Pollyanna!

Well folks, Anna-Liza (also known as Pollyanna of the Rockies) has suffered a setback in her quest for gold. Ignoring her own advice to keep her steady pace, she rushed ahead into the heel flap and only discovered the leg was too short after turning the heel and picking up the gusset stitches. We caught up with Anna-Liza at her dining room table, where she made the stunning discovery.

“I was just congratulating myself on one of the most perfect gusset-stitch pickups I’d ever completed, when I realized something looked not quite right. I laid the first sock out next to the second, and realized I was probably two, possibly three rounds short on the second leg. Nobody likes to wear socks like that. It was disappointing, but I frogged. All the way back past the heel flap.”

We asked Anna-Liza if she still thought she had any chance at the gold after such a major mistake.

“Well, anonymous sports announcer, I think I do. I rushed things and made a pretty big mistake, but I caught it before it could completely destroy my chances. I’ve already frogged back and knit back down to where the heel flap should really start, and I’ve got a couple rows done on the flap. I’m not going to push myself to regain all my lost ground at once – I plan to have some tea, read a little trashy escapist fiction, get a good night’s sleep, and have at that heel flap again tomorrow.

If I could do a perfect gusset-stitch pickup once, I think I can do it again. And then I’ll be back on track to finish this thing before the closing ceremonies end.”

So there you have it folks, another Knitting Olympian with grit and determination. We’ll see if that’s enough to make gold this year.

2 thoughts on “Oooooooohhhh, That’s Gotta Hurt, Pollyanna!

  1. Nancy G

    Ouch! I took a similar tumble on my Olympic sweater yesterday, discovering I had forgotten the sleeve decrease on one end of a round, leaving me with an uneven number of stitches. I had to frog about 3 1/2 inches worth…

    Reply
  2. lyda

    Well, in other competitors these setbacks might hurt their chances, but these two are upbeat and they won’t give up. I think these problems at this point in the competition will only intensify their determination to push through and make it to the podium. Now back to you in the studio.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

